How to make xnview never ask about saving?

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

User avatar
Drahken
Posts: 884
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 4:29 pm

How to make xnview never ask about saving?

Post by Drahken »

I want to make xnview never nag me about not saving changes to images when I close it, but the "never ask me again" is purely for the given session. I found in an old thread about editing the xnview.ini file & setting "ShowSaveDlg=" to a different number, but A) I don't know what number does what, and B) I've tried different numbers, but xnview always resets it back to "2". (I even tried setting the file to "read only", but it still got ignored.)

I know it's possible because I used to have it set that way. However, I lost that setup due to recent computer problems, and now I can't recreate it.
marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Post by marsh »

I believe this is accurate:
[Start]
ShowSaveDlg=
0 = Disable dialog for current session
129 = Disable dialog and automatically save changes when closing window.
130 = Disable dialog and do not automatically save changes.
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

And…

Post by Clo »

:arrow: Drahken

:) Hello !

• That works like marsh shows, with a detail :

The Manual wrote
[Start]
ShowSaveDlg= Flag
0: The dialogue'll remain disabled for the current session only.
129: The dialogue'll be displayed in all cases.
130: The dialogue'll never be displayed, even in the next sessions.
¤ These flags define the behaviour of the programme when one ticks the box :
“Never display this dialogue again” when a file is modified and closed. Since 1.90 ß-4.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

[Start]
SaveAdvDlg=1
¤ Allows a fine-tuning of the previous entry functions above by saving the state of the advice dialogue.
¤ Using it, you may avoid the unwanted “Overwrite” dialogue when saving a changed file only.
• Please, add the second entry (in red), and that'll work as expected, I've this here, and no more boring messages
" … to replace… " when saving a simply changed file…

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
User avatar
Drahken
Posts: 884
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 4:29 pm

Post by Drahken »

Ah, the 130 worked. I never would have guessed that, not with the default number being "2".