1.94: Exif data bug

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
Guest

1.94: Exif data bug

Post by Guest »

Hello,

I updated from 1.93.6 to 1.94 and I found a problem using the tool for converting multiple images (Ctrl+u). I use a script to convert my images and after conversion the exif data of the images is gone. Version 1.93.6 did preserve that data.

Robert
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34938
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: 1.94: Exif data bug

Post by xnview »

Anonymous wrote:Hello,

I updated from 1.93.6 to 1.94 and I found a problem using the tool for converting multiple images (Ctrl+u). I use a script to convert my images and after conversion the exif data of the images is gone. Version 1.93.6 did preserve that data.
I have not this problem do you have enabled option/Write/Jpeg/Keep exif?
Pierre.
Guest

Post by Guest »

Works! Thanks for the support!
Guest

Post by Guest »

The problem seemed to be solved but now the exif data disappeared again, even though I chose "Keep Exif".

Robert
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34938
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview »

Anonymous wrote:The problem seemed to be solved but now the exif data disappeared again, even though I chose "Keep Exif".
With 1.94.1 the problem was solved, and now you have it again?
Pierre.
User avatar
fracus
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 5:09 pm

Post by fracus »

hello i'm new on this forum.
I also have this problem with my exif datas on 1.94.1 (since 1.94).
Exif datas gone when i use free rotation or image crop.
It seem's randomised.
The option "keep exif data" is ON

Thanks.
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Since Monday…

Post by Clo »

:arrow: fracus

:) Hello ! Welcome aboard !

• That bug has been reported and confirmed also in the FRENCH SECTION since last Monday…
- I can reproduce it here by 100%, while some other users can't, or get a different bug !
- It occurs with any operation on JPEG, even :
- Open the file, do nothing, save only >> No more Exif !

:mrgreen: Kind regards,
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
Max Monroe
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 4:41 pm

Post by Max Monroe »

I can reproduce this bug too, 100%.

Furthermore, I know what's causing it: Weird EXIF makernotes.

Samsung ones, specifically; I see one of the french posters about this bug has a Samsung S850; I have an S1050. It's those photos that get thrashed, the ones from my friend's non-Samsung camera are handled fine.

To support my affirmation:

1) viewing one of my pics with PhotoMe gets me this warning:

"Too many items (12336) in IFD MakerNote (Manufacturer notes)

The number of tags in the Maker Notes IFD is very high. PhotoME has identified this as a problem and has ignored this IFD in the initialization process."

2) If I use ExifToolGui -> Remove Metadata -> EXIF:Makernote and then try to save the image with XnView, the EXIF data gets preserved just fine.

...pleasepleasplease do something about this... :)
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34938
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview »

Could you send me a sample, please?
Pierre.
Max Monroe
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 4:41 pm

Post by Max Monroe »

I've sent you a sample image. I hope it helps. By the way, in PhotoME you can only see the maker-note warning if you enable "show meta data problems" in settings.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 34938
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview »

Max Monroe wrote:I've sent you a sample image. I hope it helps. By the way, in PhotoME you can only see the maker-note warning if you enable "show meta data problems" in settings.
I can't reproduce this problem, only load + save?
Pierre.
Max Monroe
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 4:41 pm

Post by Max Monroe »

Yes, only by load then save. But as I already mentioned by mail, this seems fixed in the new 1.94.2; It was affecting only the 1.94.1 version, sorry for not realizing it was already fixed when I mentioned it.
Post Reply