Zoom slider

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView MP

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
Danny
Posts: 564
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Zoom slider

Post by Danny » Tue Dec 16, 2008 5:22 pm

I think it'd be better, if that instant thumbnail-size slider was only regenerating thumbnails if you tell it to.

If you have a folder with LOTS of potential thumbnails, generating them can take a lot of time.

So i suggest that XNView should generate thumbnails once at the currently selected (or pre-configured in the options) size when it first runs into a new file. Then it'd just resize them on the fly for display (i.e. without writing them out to the cache) only.
That'd be a lot faster in the end and put just very little more stress on the cpu - which should be a non-issue, even for PCs that are as old as mine (2Ghz AthlonXP).

P.S.: Adobe Bridge re-generates those thumbnails if you select them in the file list - aka: on-demand.
Last edited by Danny on Tue Dec 16, 2008 6:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Get the bugs fixed, THEN start adding features. It sucks, but someone has to do it.

User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Olivier_G » Tue Dec 16, 2008 5:55 pm

I tend to agree. An old message here:
(modified) wrote:- Just 1 thumbnail size in cache is needed per image: smaller display can be computed in high quality, larger display can be interpolated.
- Modifying thumbnail display temporary (zooming slider) should not change permanent setting for cache. Setting for cache should be available in Options only.
- When Cache is OFF, modifying thumbnail display with menu/toolbar can become the new setting.
Olivier

Post Reply