Extension of the "Display Colour Information" tool

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
Hobbe
Posts: 47
Joined: Mon Oct 16, 2006 8:30 pm

Extension of the "Display Colour Information" tool

Post by Hobbe » Wed Dec 24, 2008 7:55 pm

Allow "Canvas size" and "Automatic crop" to use the "Display Colour Information" tool for selecting "Background colour".

Thanks :)

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 30875
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Extension of the "Display Colour Information"

Post by xnview » Fri Dec 26, 2008 9:58 am

Hobbe wrote:Allow "Canvas size" and "Automatic crop" to use the "Display Colour Information" tool for selecting "Background colour".

Thanks :)
You don't want to have one selection color per function??
Pierre.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8151
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Fri Dec 26, 2008 5:16 pm

+1

It would be really good if one had a colour picker for selecting a colour (e.g. colour for automatic crop).

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 30875
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Sat Dec 27, 2008 10:55 am

Yes for everybody??
Pierre.

User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by JohnFredC » Sat Dec 27, 2008 1:14 pm

Yes (for me, at least).

Useful.
John

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8151
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Sat Dec 27, 2008 3:22 pm

Yes, I'm o.k.

Possible workflow:
1.) User starts action, e.g. Automatic crop.
2.) XnView displays subdialog "Automatic crop"
3.) User selects button "Pick colour"
4.) Cursor changes to a pipette. User moves cursor to background area and left clicks with mouse.
5.) Colour is displayed in subdialog "Automatic crop".

During Step 3.) and 4.) the subdialog might be hidden or reduced in size but this might be a bit confusing.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 30875
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Sun Dec 28, 2008 10:21 am

helmut wrote:Yes, I'm o.k.

Possible workflow:
1.) User starts action, e.g. Automatic crop.
2.) XnView displays subdialog "Automatic crop"
3.) User selects button "Pick colour"
4.) Cursor changes to a pipette. User moves cursor to background area and left clicks with mouse.
5.) Colour is displayed in subdialog "Automatic crop".

During Step 3.) and 4.) the subdialog might be hidden or reduced in size but this might be a bit confusing.
Yes, but not sure that is possible currently :-(
Pierre.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 30875
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Extension of the "Display Colour Information"

Post by xnview » Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:05 am

Please try XnView 1.96 beta
Pierre.

User avatar
herr_k.
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 6:11 pm

Post by herr_k. » Fri Jan 09, 2009 2:26 pm

can you please add a color picker also to the "edit palette",
for choosing the transparency color?

thx

User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by JohnFredC » Sat Jan 10, 2009 4:57 pm

Actually, any place a color can be specified in XnView should have an eyedropper color selector.

I envision a color picker class control that replaces the color swatch in all of the dialogs where a color is selected...
John

User avatar
herr_k.
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 6:11 pm

Post by herr_k. » Wed Feb 25, 2009 2:52 am

no color picker for edit palette/gif transparency in 1.9.6 ..

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Cursor only

Post by Clo » Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:32 am

:arrow: herr_k.

:) Hello !
can you please add a color picker also to the "edit palette",
for choosing the transparency color?
• I would like a “Pipette” cursor only when hovering the cells of the current palette.
- When the mouse hovers them, every colour value is displayed alright in the Index frame.
- You have just to click a cell, then tick the [×] Transparency box >> OK.
- I think it's more logical to choose a transparent colour which exists really in the picture,
rather than opening a colour picker standard palette which maybe doesn't contain
the real dominant BG colour (if it's that you mean).

:mrgreen: VG
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
herr_k.
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri Jan 06, 2006 6:11 pm

Post by herr_k. » Wed Feb 25, 2009 3:40 am

yes, but what if you have a lot of similar colors and you dont find the right color in the palette at once? there is too much try & error.
Clo wrote:opening a colour picker standard palette
no i ment the palette that you get when choosing "edit palette"?

Post Reply