XnView does not paste alpha channel data into clipboard

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
btakacs
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 2:14 pm

XnView does not paste alpha channel data into clipboard

Post by btakacs » Fri Aug 23, 2013 8:59 am

XnView does not copy the alpha channel data to clipboard. In case of an image with palette it does not copy the information which is the transparent colour of the palette.

For experimenting I copied the same transparent image into XnView itself:
Image

Using XnView 2.0.4 on Windows 7
Image is transparent png with colour palette (transparent colour is on the index 0)

Steps to reproduce:
- Open an image with transparent colour
- Select a part of it then Ctrl + C
- Ctrl + Shift + V into XnView

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31732
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XnView does not paste alpha channel data into clipboard

Post by xnview » Mon Aug 26, 2013 9:50 am

could you send me the file used?
Pierre.

btakacs
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 2:14 pm

Re: XnView does not paste alpha channel data into clipboard

Post by btakacs » Wed Aug 28, 2013 8:49 am

Dear Pierre

Here is the file I used for that test: Image

But you can easily create an image like this in XnView:
- take an image that has a big volume of the same colour
- Image > Convert to colours
- Image > Edit palette > (Select colour) (Enable transparency) (Ok)

Then (to reproduce the issue):
- Ctrl+ C
- Ctrl + Shift + V

Regards:
Bence

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31732
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XnView does not paste alpha channel data into clipboard

Post by xnview » Wed Aug 28, 2013 2:43 pm

Ok, 'Import from clipboard' doesn't use alpha channel, but if you use Ctrl+C/Ctrl+V, XnView use it
Pierre.

btakacs
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 2:14 pm

Re: XnView does not paste alpha channel data into clipboard

Post by btakacs » Thu Aug 29, 2013 12:58 pm

What do you mean? If you repeat the steps above you loose transparency of the background.
Is that the desired behaviour?
If not: Could it be fixed?

Please check with the given picture.

Update: If the transparent colour is the index 0 then the Ctrl+V works. But the if the transparent is other than the index 0 or I use Ctrl+Shift+V then the issue persists.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31732
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XnView does not paste alpha channel data into clipboard

Post by xnview » Fri Aug 30, 2013 11:46 am

btakacs wrote: If not: Could it be fixed?
yes it's a bug of 'import clipboard'
Pierre.

btakacs
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 2:14 pm

Re: XnView does not paste alpha channel data into clipboard

Post by btakacs » Fri Aug 30, 2013 12:02 pm

According to my understanding the problem is with exporting to clipboard, not with importing from clipboard.

AFAIK this kind of the images are displayed wrong in all applications if we use the image exported from XnView and imported to the different kinds of applications.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31732
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XnView does not paste alpha channel data into clipboard

Post by xnview » Fri Aug 30, 2013 2:23 pm

No :) If you copy/paste the alpha channel is not lost
But there is a lot of problem with alpha channel support in windows
Pierre.

btakacs
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Mar 29, 2013 2:14 pm

Re: XnView does not paste alpha channel data into clipboard

Post by btakacs » Mon Sep 02, 2013 7:20 am

Ok, you are the expert. The only thing I want to tell: if I export this kind of images into any other application in Windows then the transparency is lost. But if I open them from the file system everything is ok.

For me it's happening with images that has color palette with a non-zero index transparent color.
But there is a lot of problem with alpha channel support in windows
Do you mean that it is basically a windows bug but you might create a workaround for it?

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31732
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: XnView does not paste alpha channel data into clipboard

Post by xnview » Mon Sep 02, 2013 8:30 am

Sorry about my misunderstanding, it's not alpha channel, but RIGHT there is a problem with 8bits picture + transparency index, the clipboard doesn't support transparency index (i don't know how to use it)... I need to check...
Pierre.

Post Reply