[v1.60] “Keep ratio” broken

XnConvert Multi Platform - Windows, MacOSX, Linux

Moderators: helmut, XnTriq, xnview

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 6040
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

[v1.60] “Keep ratio” broken

Post by XnTriq »

The Keep ratio checkbox for the Resize action has no effect in v1.60 of XnConvert for Windows 32-bit (x86).
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37882
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: [v1.60] “Keep ratio” broken

Post by xnview »

i can't reproduce, which values do you have?
Pierre.
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 6040
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: [v1.60] “Keep ratio” broken

Post by XnTriq »

xnview wrote:i can't reproduce, which values do you have?
p116749.gif
[ Animation ]

Expected behavior: If Keep ratio is activated and the value for Width is increased or decreased, the value for Height should change accordingly in real-time and vice versa.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3288
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: [v1.60] “Keep ratio” broken

Post by cday »

I think there is a problem but it's possibly slightly different from the issue described above...

Edit: I found the animation a little confusing but reading the text above I think we're saying about the same thing:

The XnConvert 'Resize' function with the 'Keep ratio' option selected should work the same as the 'Resize' function in Xnview 2.13 -- if 'Keep ratio' is checked, changing the Width should result in the Height changing to match:

Before:
XnView_Image_1.png
After:
XnView_Image_2.png
In XnConvert with 'Keep ratio' checked, changing the Width results in the image being resized correctly with the ratio maintained, but the Height value displayed is not changed to match the Width change as it is in XnView:

Before:
XnConvert_Image_1.png
After:
XnConvert_Image_2.png
The fact that the Height value displayed doesn't track the Width change displayed seems to be the only problem.

Images are for XnConvert 1.55 due to the Resize bug previously identified in 1.60.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by cday on Tue Jan 21, 2014 10:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37882
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: [v1.60] “Keep ratio” broken

Post by xnview »

yes it's normal, 'keep ratio' is applied only when processing, depending on the image size...
Pierre.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3288
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: [v1.60] “Keep ratio” broken

Post by cday »

xnview wrote:yes it's normal, 'keep ratio' is applied only when processing, depending on the image size...
[Deleted]

The Enlarge/Reduce -- 'Always' / 'Reduce only' / 'Enlarge only' option determines how a particular image is processed, but when 'Keep ratio' is selected the displayed Width and Height values should always follow each other, as in Image > Resize... ?

The Preview displays changes as expected.
Last edited by cday on Wed Jan 22, 2014 8:51 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 6040
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: [v1.60] “Keep ratio” broken

Post by XnTriq »

xnview wrote:yes it's normal, 'keep ratio' is applied only when processing, depending on the image size...
I agree that the values of Width & Height shouldn't be linked for pixels, but I was referring to resize by percent (see screenshot).
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 37882
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: [v1.60] “Keep ratio” broken

Post by xnview »

cday wrote: The Enlarge/Reduce -- 'Always' / 'Reduce only' / 'Enlarge only' option determines how a particular image is processed, but when 'Keep ratio' is selected the displayed Width and Height values should always follow each other, as in Image > Resize... ?

The Preview displays changes as expected.
I'm not sure, you can have many different resolution in the input file list.
Pierre.