0.94.2: Metadata transfer fails

Older bugs which are supposed to be fixed in 0.84. *** Please try to reproduce your bug and confirm the bug fix. ***

Moderator: Dreamer

cicciobello
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:08 pm

0.94.2: Metadata transfer fails

Post by cicciobello »

XnView MP 0.94.2 x64
MS Windows 7 SP1 x64 (tested on 2 different PC)

Source: TIFF files with IPTC metadata ONLY, in multiple lines (even blank), like this IPTC Caption:
--------------------------
Line 1
Line 2

Line 4
Line 5
--------------------------

To reproduce:
Select 1+ files
[Tools] -> [Metadata] -> [Transfer...]
XMP:description <- {IPTC:Caption}

Actual behaviour (bug): Only first line was copied in XMP metadata, NOT all lines.

Expected behaviour: All lines was copied in XMP metadata.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36866
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.94.2: Metadata transfer fails

Post by xnview »

could you send me the tiff file?
Pierre.
cicciobello
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Dec 25, 2013 7:08 pm

Re: 0.94.2: Metadata transfer fails

Post by cicciobello »

To reproduce:
Select 1+ files
[Tools] -> [Metadata] -> [Transfer...]
XMP:description <- {IPTC:Caption}

Actual behaviour (bug): Only first line was copied in XMP metadata, NOT all lines.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36866
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.94.2: Metadata transfer fails

Post by xnview »

:bugconfirmed: Thanks to your detailed description I can reproduce

(For me :) need to use exiftool -E "-comment=line 1&#xd;&#xa;line 2" image.jpg)
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36866
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.94.2: Metadata transfer fails

Post by xnview »

See issue for current status and some details.
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36866
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: 0.94.2: Metadata transfer fails

Post by xnview »

This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 0.96. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.
Pierre.