Batch Convert RW2 To Jpg Silently Resizes Images

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
metal450
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:01 am

Batch Convert RW2 To Jpg Silently Resizes Images

Post by metal450 »

Using XnView MP Windows 0.95 64-bit, I'm attempting to batch rename some RW2 files to Jpg. The software is lowering the resolution of the files, despite no settings to do so. My exact procedure:

1) Tools->Batch Convert
2) Input tab, Add the folder or files
3) Actions tab, (None)
4) Output tab, click "Source folder"
5) Output tab, Filename={Filename}-jpg
6) Output tab, Format=JPEG/JFIF. Settings...
...Quality=100
...Progressive=OFF
...Optimize Huffman table=ON
...DCT=Float
...Subsampling factor=1x1, 1x1, 1x1 (best)
...Rebuild embedded EXIF thumbnail=Yes
Use estimated quality=No
7) Convert

The input raw files are 5208x3904. The output files it produces are only 1920x1440.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 2569
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Batch Convert RW2 To Jpg Silently Resizes Images

Post by cday »

Is File > Format settings... > Read tab -- Camera RAW -- Use set to Full size ?
metal450
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:01 am

Re: Batch Convert RW2 To Jpg Silently Resizes Images

Post by metal450 »

That fixed it.

Seems like that setting should really be available on the batch conversion dialog too, or at the very least a note that if it's set wrong, it won't actually convert the full-size raw (which would clearly be the expectation). I spent like an hour pulling my hair out not able to figure out why it kept resizing the output...despite my not having specified "Resize."
metal450
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 28, 2019 6:01 am

Re: Batch Convert RW2 To Jpg Silently Resizes Images

Post by metal450 »

Is there some other easier way to get to this setting than to have to dig into the settings every time?

When converting raw to jpg, obviously I want to actually convert the actual raw, not the preview. But when just casually viewing photos (i.e. using it as a viewer), loading the full raws is incredibly slow. So I now find myself having to constantly go back & forth, changing this setting back & forth. VIew photos: on; Convert photos: off; View photos: on again; Convert photos: back off again. Digging through the settings dialog over & over...
Post Reply