How to get rid of an unwanted menu

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView MP.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

User avatar
Orfanomondo
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 11:02 am
Location: Greece

How to get rid of an unwanted menu

Post by Orfanomondo »

I have been using Xn Classic since 2008 but only recently downloaded MP. In both Viewer and Fullscreen mode when I try to move to the next/previous picture by clicking right/left on my mouse I always get an extra toolbar right in the middle of the page (hiding the image). I don't know this toolbar's name so I could do something in the Settings. I tried to unclick all toolbars but it did not disappear. What is the name of this toolbar? It disappears after an extra click but I don't want to see it at all, it's annoying. I am sure there is an easy fix, I just can't figure it out.

One more thing: is there a "return to factory defaults" setting somewhere so that I could undo any needless changes I have made in the settings?
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3481
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: How to get rid of a toolbar

Post by cday »

Orfanomondo wrote: Fri Jun 24, 2022 11:38 am I have been using Xn Classic since 2008 but only recently downloaded MP. In both Viewer and Fullscreen mode when I try to move to the next/previous picture by clicking right/left on my mouse I always get an extra toolbar right in the middle of the page (hiding the image). I don't know this toolbar's name so I could do something in the Settings. I tried to unclick all toolbars but it did not disappear. What is the name of this toolbar? It disappears after an extra click but I don't want to see it at all, it's annoying. I am sure there is an easy fix, I just can't figure it out.
Could you post a screenshot?

Is there a "return to factory defaults" setting somewhere so that I could undo any needless changes I have made in the settings?
I think deleting your current .ini file should result in a new .ini with default settings being created when the program is restarted... :D

You can locate your present file and open the folder it is in using Tools > Settings > Integration -- Paths tab.
User avatar
Orfanomondo
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 11:02 am
Location: Greece

Re: How to get rid of a toolbar

Post by Orfanomondo »

2022-06-24.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Orfanomondo
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 11:02 am
Location: Greece

Re: How to get rid of a toolbar

Post by Orfanomondo »

I deleted the ini file and restarted. No change.
User avatar
Orfanomondo
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 11:02 am
Location: Greece

Re: How to get rid of a toolbar

Post by Orfanomondo »

Reading my original post I noticed I perhaps need to be more specific. When I click right/left I do get the next picture ok, but on top of that new picture floats this unsolicited toolbar thingy.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3481
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: How to get rid of a toolbar

Post by cday »

The screenshot was useful: that is a menu not a toolbar... :wink:

Please check your mouse settings for the left and right buttons in Tools > Settings > Interface -- Mouse tab.

If the settings are correct, possibly your mouse is responding twice to each click, if necessary you could test that using another mouse if you have one.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3481
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: How to get rid of a toolbar

Post by cday »

Orfanomondo wrote: Fri Jun 24, 2022 12:27 pm When I click right/left I do get the next picture ok, but on top of that new picture floats this unsolicited toolbar thingy.
I am seeing the same on two computers, with different mice and different XnView MP versions... :(

I normally have the right mouse button set to 'make a selection' by dragging a rectangle, which is working normally. When I set the right button to 'next picture' I usually see what you are seeing with the unwanted context menu, and when I saw a similar problem last year, I think it was resolved by using a different mouse. Have you tried that?

But possibly there is something critical in the program timing now?
User avatar
Orfanomondo
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 11:02 am
Location: Greece

Re: How to get rid of an unwanted menu

Post by Orfanomondo »

Thank you so much for your help.
It is peculiar that I do not have the same problem in Xn Classic which I am using almost daily. Everything works fine and the whole Settings thing seems to be identical. I might compare the settings page per page, although it is tedious.
Where do these menus come from? Is there a possibility to regulate them somehow?
I uninstalled the whole MP and then downloaded and installed it again thinking I might start from a clean slate. The fates are against me. The programme started exactly where I had left it with the same settings and the same problems. How is that possible?
Methinks I don't really need MP. It just has a few more handy possibilities for improving picture quality which I quite liked. I also liked the layout I found and that the thumbnail size can easily and quickly be changed with a sliding ruler.
However, the quality of my life is not significantly worse without it.
User avatar
Orfanomondo
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 11:02 am
Location: Greece

Re: How to get rid of a toolbar

Post by Orfanomondo »

cday wrote: Fri Jun 24, 2022 1:35 pm
I normally have the right mouse button set to 'make a selection' by dragging a rectangle, which is working normally. When I set the right button to 'next picture' I usually see what you are seeing with the unwanted context menu, and when I saw a similar problem last year, I think it was resolved by using a different mouse. Have you tried that?
I currently have the right click in see next and the left click in see previous.
I do not have another working mouse at the moment. But if it were the mouse, would I not have the same issue in XnView Classic?
Thanks.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3481
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: How to get rid of an unwanted menu

Post by cday »

If the reinstalled program launched with the previous customised settings, it is likely that the previous .ini was still in place; you could locate it as indicated above and delete it if you wish, before reinstalling the software. But I don't think the issue you have is related to the particular .ini settings.

I think the observed symptoms suggest an interface problem between the software and particular mice. Possibly the software thinks that the mouse button has been released and then reselected, when mechanically it has not. I noticed in my tests that while the issue normally arises, sometimes it did not. Were you able to test with a different mouse?

Edit:
Orfanomondo wrote: Fri Jun 24, 2022 3:00 pm I do not have another working mouse at the moment. But if it were the mouse, would I not have the same issue in XnView Classic?
Not necessarily, different software implementations, maybe something in the Qt framework used in XnView MP, or a timing in the detailed XnView MP code make it less tolerant of variations in mouse timing... :?:
User avatar
Orfanomondo
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 11:02 am
Location: Greece

Re: How to get rid of an unwanted menu

Post by Orfanomondo »

I might be inflating this issue out of proportion but I discovered something unexpected. While I was trying out different settings on MP I happened to have the Classic open at the same time. When I then returned to Classic to try the mouse I found out that all the changes I made in MP had been carried over to the Classic settings simultaneously. So now I was totally effed-up with everything. How in the name of our redeemer is that possible? Luckily I remembered most of the settings I had in Classic and managed to revert them to where they were. It then started to work as before. Changing next/previous pictures works without a hitch and there is no extra menu in Classic either. Unfortunately, the changes I reversed in Classic were not carried over to MP.
I will let my subconscious mull this over and return to my MP tomorrow with a clear mind. I will make sure though that my Classic is not open while I am working on MP, or will it even make a difference. I did not know these programmes were married.
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3481
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: How to get rid of an unwanted menu

Post by cday »

Orfanomondo wrote: Fri Jun 24, 2022 3:46 pm I might be inflating this issue out of proportion but I discovered something unexpected. While I was trying out different settings on MP I happened to have the Classic open at the same time. When I then returned to Classic to try the mouse I found out that all the changes I made in MP had been carried over to the Classic settings simultaneously.
The .ini files probably have identical filenames if you check, possibly one of them was not in the correct directory, although it is hard to see how that could happen unless you had been accessing them and screwed up. But even so that is at least rather surprising!
User avatar
Orfanomondo
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 11:02 am
Location: Greece

Re: How to get rid of an unwanted menu

Post by Orfanomondo »

cday wrote: Fri Jun 24, 2022 3:08 pm Were you able to test with a different mouse?

....

Not necessarily, different software implementations, maybe something in the Qt framework used in XnView MP, or a timing in the detailed XnView MP code make it less tolerant of variations in mouse timing...
I managed to get another mouse from my significant other, another make and model. In MP changing next/previous pictures behaved the same way with the extra menu popping up. However, at the same time, I also tried it on my Classic and there changing pictures required two separate clicks, both ways. The picture would only change after a second click whereas on my own mouse one click is enough. No menu appeared though. I'll be keeping my present mouse for now.
User avatar
Orfanomondo
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2008 11:02 am
Location: Greece

Re: How to get rid of an unwanted menu

Post by Orfanomondo »

cday wrote: Fri Jun 24, 2022 3:08 pm The .ini files probably have identical filenames if you check, possibly one of them was not in the correct directory, although it is hard to see how that could happen unless you had been accessing them and screwed up. But even so that is at least rather surprising!
I only deleted the ini file once as instructed above and in MP only, never touched them since. In general, I do not feel confident enough to change things in programmes. Do you think clearing the ini files in both might solve any of the above?
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3481
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: How to get rid of an unwanted menu

Post by cday »

Orfanomondo wrote: Fri Jun 24, 2022 4:42 pm Do you think clearing the ini files in both might solve any of the above?
In my opinion very unlikely!