Resize setting not persistent

Older bugs which are supposed to be fixed in 0.84. *** Please try to reproduce your bug and confirm the bug fix. ***

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview, Dreamer

pblacky
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2022 7:43 am

Resize setting not persistent

Post by pblacky »

Hi all,
I am trying to create a resize setting and save this for future editing.
I only need ONE setting to get a photo on the largest side with 800 pixels.
When saving the settings, the number in the side length field is ALWAYS set to "0".
I have no idea what to do, please help.

Furthermore, if this works, I would like to create a menu item where I can call up this change as quickly as possible.
Maybe you have a tip.
The purpose is to call up images that were made using an external program (Evernote) and to bring them to this size as quickly as possible

Version 1.01 64bits (Aug 8 2022) GERMAN

best regards paul
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3481
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Resize setting not persistent

Post by cday »

While the issue you mention is investigated, hopefully, if you use the same values repeatedly, possibly Tools > Batch convert... would provide a work around?
pblacky
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2022 7:43 am

Re: Resize setting not persistent

Post by pblacky »

cday wrote: Sun Aug 21, 2022 8:49 am possibly Tools > Batch convert... would provide a work around?
Thanks for your tip!!
My process is as follows:
Pictures are taken via Evernote on the mobile phone and synced to the PC.
Then back on the workstation PC, I double-click a graphic directly from Evernote, which is opened with the standard program XNViewMP. There I crop the image first, and then I want to shrink it as described. (Longest side at 800 pixels)

I think "batch convert" only works if the photos are saved in a folder, or am I remembering that wrong?

But maybe there is a function for this process that I don't know about yet. I'm not that familiar with XNViewMP, so I appreciate good tips ;-)
cday
XnThusiast
Posts: 3481
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:45 am
Location: Cheltenham, U.K.

Re: Resize setting not persistent

Post by cday »

pblacky wrote: Sun Aug 21, 2022 9:22 am
cday wrote: Sun Aug 21, 2022 8:49 am possibly Tools > Batch convert... would provide a work around?
Pictures are taken via Evernote on the mobile phone and synced to the PC.
Then back on the workstation PC, I double-click a graphic directly from Evernote, which is opened with the standard program XNViewMP. There I crop the image first, and then I want to shrink it as described. (Longest side at 800 pixels)

I think "batch convert" only works if the photos are saved in a folder, or am I remembering that wrong?
I don't use Evernote, but does it not provide a way to place output image files in a selected folder on your workstation, so that you can then convert the whole folder?

Is the Evernote graphic that you click on your workstation not a file? Maybe you could check whether it had an extension, or is possibly only a link?

What if you take several pictures, without immediately clicking on the first graph that appears, do multiple graphics appear on your workstation ?
pblacky
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2022 7:43 am

Re: Resize setting not persistent

Post by pblacky »

Thanks for your tips!

Since I have to do this process often and with many database entries that only have ONE photo, batch processing is unfortunately not an option. Manually remove any photo from Evernote, save, etc. is technically possible, but not practicable for me due to the higher expenditure of time.

I would be happy if there was a way for the programmers to fix this error when saving. Or am I in the wrong forum for this?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38830
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Resize setting not persistent

Post by xnview »

you save it in presets?
Pierre.
pblacky
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 21, 2022 7:43 am

Re: Resize setting not persistent

Post by pblacky »

SaveIt.jpg
xnview wrote: Wed Aug 24, 2022 1:26 pm you save it in presets?
I attached a screenshot!
I change the field (green arrow) to "600" and save it at the dialog (red arrow) when i pressed the save icon the
the field content (green arrow) is reset to "0"!!
Wrong way ?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38830
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Resize setting not persistent

Post by xnview »

:bugconfirmed: Thanks to your detailed description I can reproduce the problem.
Pierre.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38830
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Resize setting not persistent

Post by xnview »

This problem is supposed to be fixed in XnView MP 1.3.0. Please check and confirm the bug fix here.
Pierre.