auto changes folder

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
thire
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:26 am
Contact:

auto changes folder

Post by thire » Sat Jan 14, 2006 10:02 am

I am viewing images in folder A and then I edit an image. I save it in folder B (save as) and press the button to see the next image (in the A folder), but it appears the next image in folder B.
I still use beta3

XnView 1.82 -

FlorianH
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 8:28 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Post by FlorianH » Sat Jan 14, 2006 11:49 am

Do you have the option [] After 'Save as', change filename checked (in options->general)?
If yes, i think it's normal behaviour...

Perhaps have a look at this topic.

Xyzzy
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Poland

Post by Xyzzy » Mon Jan 16, 2006 12:01 pm

I'd consider it a bug, because file sequence to browse is changed after View is opened- unexpected.

X.

FlorianH
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2005 8:28 am
Location: Munich, Germany

Post by FlorianH » Mon Jan 16, 2006 6:33 pm

Xyzzy wrote:I'd consider it a bug, because file sequence to browse is changed after View is opened- unexpected.
He didn't mention if he has the option enabled. What would you expect?

BTW, the following topic is related to the question discussed here: rc1: [minor] rename option After 'Save as', change filename

Xyzzy
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Poland

Post by Xyzzy » Mon Jan 16, 2006 7:09 pm

OK, lets say we run View from Browser. There are 3 pics there, we open 2nd one.
ONE-[TWO]-THREE
TWO is displayed, and browsing sequence is like above.
Now we save TWO with Save as to another directory. So now we have:
ONE-[TWO-NEW]-THREE. Next/Previous file should lead to THREE or ONE, regardless of state of 'After Save as change filename'- we want to save file under new name, not change browsing sequence.

Ideally, going back from ONE to next file should display TWO-NEW.
Both changing file sequence to files surrounding TWO-NEW in filesystem and removing TWO-NEW from sequence (replacing it with TWO) will confuse user I think.

By the way, maybe new name for 'After Save as change filename' should really be 'After Save as keep opened original file'? Someone already proposed something very similar afair.

X.

User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Olivier_G » Mon Jan 16, 2006 11:06 pm

I don't see this as a bug. And in fact, I never understood that sequence thing => I am where I am... :mrgreen:

If I checked After 'Save as', change filename, it means that I am working on this new file and that I am located there now, for Next/Previous navigation. It is even mandatory if the option Synchronize Browser selection with current View is on. See... different logic. :)

Olivier

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Same for me…

Post by Clo » Tue Jan 17, 2006 12:22 am

:arrow: Olivier_G

:) Hello !

- I support your point of view. I don't want to come back to the previous situation. Since we have a displayed <file.xxx> saved into a <yyy> folder, let's stay at this folder…
- Whether we need to view the source-file again, this is not a big deal to display it from the "Recent files" list¦menu…

:mrgreen: Kind regards,
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

Xyzzy
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Poland

Post by Xyzzy » Tue Jan 17, 2006 9:04 am

Image sequence is simply a list of images that is supposed to be shown by next/previous file operations in current moment.

Well, let's say we browse images from a search. We save some image as a new file and, out of a sudden, we are not in search results but somewhere else. Why? We want to browse search results all the time.

Or we browse images from image basket, save one of images with save as and suddenly we are out of image basket. Why? We want to browse images from the basket- that's what we've chosen to browse.

Clo, it's not a matter of 'current situation', but a matter what we want to browse now. If I start browsing in some directory- I expect to stay program in this directory.

I don't agree with Olivier_G that after save as we are in a different directory- why implicitly change current directory? When I used Save as, I wanted just to do THAT- write file under a new name, not change a directory. What is the logic behind such change? Why should we 'stay in this folder'? In XnView user browses sequence of images- why change it without explicit user consent?

BTW- some more details on showing sequence with Saved as files:
If 'After Save as change filename' is checked, behaviour is a s described in my post.
If 'After Save as change filename' is UNchecked, we are still editing original file (as currently). When trying to skip to next/previous file, we get message that file is changed ad decide if to save it. In both cases TWO stays in sequence (as changed or original).

X.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Why always "Browse" ?

Post by Clo » Tue Jan 17, 2006 10:53 am

:arrow: Xyzzy

:) Hello L. !

- My opinion is based on the jobs I've to do daily for which I have not to browse continually big amounts of images…
- Olivier and I are talking - I think- of a general use in "View" mode - the most I use XnView - and if I save a pic, it's the most times a source-BMP for which I am no longer interested in.
- Then, I often have to make a next screen shot, import it, make another BMP, eventually retouch some details in Paint, and save this one… and so on !
- I have rarely to search images among a mountain of them, and if this occurs, I use rather TC and its twin panels, much more comfortable : thumb-nails on a pane, and directories on the other, with all other facilities of TC…

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

Xyzzy
Posts: 652
Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2004 10:17 pm
Location: Poland

Re: Why always "Browse" ?

Post by Xyzzy » Tue Jan 17, 2006 11:38 am

Clo wrote:- Olivier and I are talking - I think- of a general use in "View" mode - the most I use XnView - and if I save a pic, it's the most times a source-BMP for which I am no longer interested in.
- Then, I often have to make a next screen shot, import it, make another BMP, eventually retouch some details in Paint, and save this one… and so on !
Hmm, I do not see any conflict here (?)

You save a picture from a source directory and next picture to process is supposedly in the same directory as the first original.
If you import image from clipboard and Save file (there is no 'original' in such case) and Close view, you are in directory of the NEW file.

Note, that if you use 'After Save s change filename' and 'Synchronize tree with view', after closing picture you are in directory of the NEW file.

Both work as you expect (?) and don't conflict with my concept.

X.

Post Reply