Saving images - many formats, small oversight

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

User avatar
Troken
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Saving images - many formats, small oversight

Post by Troken » Thu Jul 06, 2006 7:47 am

When saving an image (save as) and changing to another format, the formats in the "pulldown-menu" (heck, what is it called in english?) are quite a few. But you can only see four lines, which gives a pretty bad oversight when looking after the fileformat of your choise. Its a long list to scroll through.

Can it be changed so the menu shows more formats at a time, say ten or so?

EDIT: "dropdownlist"?
Last edited by Troken on Thu Jul 06, 2006 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31891
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Saving images - many formats, small oversight

Post by xnview » Thu Jul 06, 2006 8:23 am

Troken wrote:When saving an image (save as) and changing to another format, the formats in the "pulldown-menu" (heck, what is it called in english?) are quite a few. But you can only see four lines, which gives a pretty bad oversight when looking after the fileformat of your choise. Its a long list to scroll through.

Can it be changed so the menu shows more formats at a time, say ten or so?
In the save dialog?? No i can't
Pierre.

User avatar
Troken
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Troken » Thu Jul 06, 2006 11:38 am

Yes, in the save-dialog.

Well OK.

marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Post by marsh » Sun Jul 09, 2006 12:15 am

Troken wrote:Can it be changed so the menu shows more formats at a time, say ten or so?
It shows 10 lines at a time for me. Only 4 for you?? Maybe there is a misunderstanding.
Image

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Definition…

Post by Clo » Sun Jul 09, 2006 3:55 am

—> Troken
:) Hello !

• Here, when the scroll-bar is quite at the top, I get six lines (the most used formats), and 30 in total @ the bottom.
- It depends on the screen-definition you chose. I've 1024*768, while marsh (above) has certainly 600*800 ;)
• However, for my daily tasks I would much prefer THAT SOLUTION ;) {Please, watch from the top of that page and further… }

The list sucks… :twisted:

:mrgreen: Kind regards,
Claude
Clo
Last edited by Clo on Sun Jul 09, 2006 5:39 am, edited 2 times in total.
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Re: Definition…

Post by marsh » Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:37 am

I see 10 lines under both resolutions. An XP only issue?

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Win settings ?

Post by Clo » Sun Jul 09, 2006 5:31 am

—> marsh

:) Hello B. !

• Below, you can see that I get @ home with XP-Pro SP1 - 1024*768 :

—————— Image

• I get the same with 600*800… but much bigger ! :D

• Maybe the font-settings in Windows or so ?
Alas, we can't choose the font for the dialogues and other GUI items in XnView… :|

:mrgreen: FR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
Troken
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Troken » Sun Jul 09, 2006 9:33 am

Very strange. I got the problem with four lines on one of my computers, but now at my standard computer, I get 30 lines – just as I requested. I don't get it :? Maybe it is a Windows-issue, and not a XnView-thing.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Win box…

Post by Clo » Sun Jul 09, 2006 10:05 am

—> Troken

• Indeed this is a box which belongs to Windows.

- It's not in the the resources of XnView…

- I suspect some twisted hidden setting of Win XP, set at a fourth_down_level location as usual ! :P

• I ought admit that I never saw such an issue, neither in XnView, nor in any other programme…
- Maybe could you check Config. Panel >> Display >> Appearance >> Advanced >> Scroll bar. The max height is not configurable, but when the default width ( 18 ) is changed, this causes strange things sometimes in applications…
- Just a thought…

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
Troken
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Troken » Mon Jul 17, 2006 8:12 pm

Clo, Im trying this out on another machine now, this time a W2K-computer, so I can not find the setting you refer to. When back from my vacation, I'll try with a winXP-machine.

Only four rows here as well. :? Ah, never mind... One day I will find out. Or just forget all about it.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Annoying

Post by Clo » Mon Jul 17, 2006 9:29 pm

:) Good evening,

• I've not any Win2K here, but I guess it's located around Config. Panel >> Display >> Appearance >>, maybe closer the start box, a bit like it was under Win 9x…
- It's the dialogue where you can modify¦create the (a) current Win theme. Moreover, I've a French Windows… maybe the names are not exactly the same…

- Anyway, four lines only is pretty annoying…

:mrgreen: Kind regards,
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5456
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq » Mon Jul 17, 2006 10:50 pm

Troken,

what are your DPI settings?

How to set the video driver display DPI to Normal Size (96 DPI) (Windows XP only):
  1. Right-click the desktop and choose Properties.
  2. In the Display Properties dialog box, click the Settings tab.
  3. Click Advanced.
  4. Choose Normal Size (96 DPI) from the DPI Setting menu.
  5. Click Apply, and then click OK.
  6. Click OK to close the Display Properties dialog box.

User avatar
Troken
Posts: 698
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 10:18 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Troken » Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:53 am

Clo, found it, but didn't work.

XnTriq, I have the normal setting (96 dpi) on this win 2000-machine.

:) Hey guys, don't sweat blood over this, it aint a big deal! :wink:

User avatar
Drahken
Posts: 884
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 4:29 pm

Post by Drahken » Wed Jul 19, 2006 11:23 am

XP home SP2, 800x600, 30 types shown at a time. Strangely, while the other screens posted have had the list appear below the initial line, mine appears above it.
Image
Oh the feuhrer, oh the feuhrer, oh the feuhrer's nipples bonk!

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

A game to catch !

Post by Clo » Wed Jul 19, 2006 1:26 pm

—> Troken

:) Hello !

• I've the normal 96 Dots Per Inch too here…
- Maybe you consider that it is not a big deal, bit something goes wrong somewhere, and it's a game that must be caught !
- And there is a fine pack to hunt this here :D

—> Drahken

• Hé, hé ! Really weird ! Maybe are you using some third-party XP theme ?
- Testing another programme recently, we got many troubles with such themes…
- Personally, I stick to the classic Win 9x look, especially to avoid the rounded corners of the buttons (because the French strings are more or less truncated on them when the programmer is stingy with the widths of the controls…)

:mrgreen: Kind regards,
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

Post Reply