Question about View Options

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

pagedude

Question about View Options

Post by pagedude »

On Options->View, I currently have:
Auto Image Size = "Fit window to image"
Force Xnview to image = checked

This behaves the way I want (XNView auto-resizes to fit the image) *EXCEPT* for one thing:
The XNView window position on the screen changes as I scroll through a set of images.

Is there a way to anchor the top left of the XNView window to a particular position relative to the desktop with the above view settings?

(The problem that happens is that since the XNView window position keeps changing, scrolling through a group of images quickly becomes difficult, as one has to move the mouse to meet up with where the forward/backward arrows have moved)
marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Re: Question about View Options

Post by marsh »

pagedude wrote: Is there a way to anchor the top left of the XNView window to a particular position relative to the desktop with the above view settings?
Not with those options. That is what 'Force Xnview to fit image' does- it adjusts the global (program) window to match image also.
Danny
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Re: Question about View Options

Post by Danny »

pagedude wrote:On Options->View, I currently have:
Auto Image Size = "Fit window to image"
Force Xnview to image = checked

This behaves the way I want (XNView auto-resizes to fit the image) *EXCEPT* for one thing:
The XNView window position on the screen changes as I scroll through a set of images.

Is there a way to anchor the top left of the XNView window to a particular position relative to the desktop with the above view settings?

(The problem that happens is that since the XNView window position keeps changing, scrolling through a group of images quickly becomes difficult, as one has to move the mouse to meet up with where the forward/backward arrows have moved)
Yes, other programs do that better. But you can setup your mousewheel to skip through your images as a workaround.
Get the bugs fixed, THEN start adding features. It sucks, but someone has to do it.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38702
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Question about View Options

Post by xnview »

pagedude wrote:On Options->View, I currently have:
Auto Image Size = "Fit window to image"
Force Xnview to image = checked

This behaves the way I want (XNView auto-resizes to fit the image) *EXCEPT* for one thing:
The XNView window position on the screen changes as I scroll through a set of images.

Is there a way to anchor the top left of the XNView window to a particular position relative to the desktop with the above view settings?

(The problem that happens is that since the XNView window position keeps changing, scrolling through a group of images quickly becomes difficult, as one has to move the mouse to meet up with where the forward/backward arrows have moved)
Perhaps i must move the cursor??
Pierre.
Error404
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Aug 04, 2006 10:42 pm

Post by Error404 »

I don't think moving the cursor would be a good workaround... it would rather make us lose track of the cursor is every now and then...

Maybe the best solution is to create new shortcuts. I think the browser Opera has a simple solution to that. It's kinda like a double click, but using both mouse buttons.

If you click the left and then the right button fast (as fast as a double click) it works as a Forward and if you click the right and then the left button it works as a Back. It's simple and intuitive.

Dunno how hard it is to program such shortcuts, but it could make it better for people who like to browse only using the mouse... :D
AxMi-24

Post by AxMi-24 »

My problem is that I have a widescreen and the taskbar is on the left side. So when scrolling through the images the xnview always ends up under the taskbar. Extremely annoying that is just dissregards the taskbar.

Anyway of fixing that or do I have to go back to ACDSee 3.x?
Danny
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Danny »

AxMi-24 wrote:My problem is that I have a widescreen and the taskbar is on the left side. So when scrolling through the images the xnview always ends up under the taskbar. Extremely annoying that is just dissregards the taskbar.

Anyway of fixing that or do I have to go back to ACDSee 3.x?
Yes, same problem here. My taskbar sits at the top and i've reported the issue. They just claimed it doesn't happen for them, or don't really care.
Get the bugs fixed, THEN start adding features. It sucks, but someone has to do it.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38702
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Post by xnview »

Danny wrote:
AxMi-24 wrote:My problem is that I have a widescreen and the taskbar is on the left side. So when scrolling through the images the xnview always ends up under the taskbar. Extremely annoying that is just dissregards the taskbar.

Anyway of fixing that or do I have to go back to ACDSee 3.x?
Yes, same problem here. My taskbar sits at the top and i've reported the issue. They just claimed it doesn't happen for them, or don't really care.
I can't reproduce this problem :-(
Pierre.
Danny
Posts: 566
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2004 5:09 pm

Post by Danny »

xnview wrote:
Danny wrote:
AxMi-24 wrote:My problem is that I have a widescreen and the taskbar is on the left side. So when scrolling through the images the xnview always ends up under the taskbar. Extremely annoying that is just dissregards the taskbar.

Anyway of fixing that or do I have to go back to ACDSee 3.x?
Yes, same problem here. My taskbar sits at the top and i've reported the issue. They just claimed it doesn't happen for them, or don't really care.
I can't reproduce this problem :-(
Yeah, well. But it exists as you can see. Reported it here before: http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?p=27017

Of cource, your viewer must not be maximized.
Get the bugs fixed, THEN start adding features. It sucks, but someone has to do it.