A: Duplicate in batch rename doesn't work

Bugs and Suggestions in XnView Classic which have been resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
Nelson
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:44 pm
Location: Tao-Yuan, Taiwan
Contact:

A: Duplicate in batch rename doesn't work

Post by Nelson »

The Duplicate settings in batch rename dialog doesn't work.
Can anyone confirm this?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33840
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Duplicate in batch rename doesn't work

Post by xnview »

Nelson wrote:The Duplicate settings in batch rename dialog doesn't work.
Can anyone confirm this?
I have no problem with 'duplicate', what's happened?
Pierre.
Nelson
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:44 pm
Location: Tao-Yuan, Taiwan
Contact:

Re: Duplicate in batch rename doesn't work

Post by Nelson »

xnview wrote:
Nelson wrote:The Duplicate settings in batch rename dialog doesn't work.
Can anyone confirm this?
I have no problem with 'duplicate', what's happened?
Ok, I try to describe step by step, hope you can understand me.
My XnView is 1.90 Alph2, and I choose 4 JPG files to test.
In the Batch Rename window, the Name template is <Creation>.
  1. In the Duplicate name window, Suffix is _##, enable Always and Number.
  2. The new names are 2006-08-30.jpg, 2006-09-01_01.jpg, 2006-09-01_02.jpg, 2006-09-01_03.jpg.
  3. Here is an error, the first new name should be 2006-08-30_01.jpg (because I enable the Always option).
  1. This time, I enable Always and Character.
  2. The new names become 2006-08-30.jpg, 2006-09-01_AC.jpg, 2006-09-01_AB.jpg, 2006-09-01_AC.jpg.
  3. Two errors.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33840
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Duplicate in batch rename doesn't work

Post by xnview »

Nelson wrote:
xnview wrote:
Nelson wrote:The Duplicate settings in batch rename dialog doesn't work.
Can anyone confirm this?
I have no problem with 'duplicate', what's happened?
Ok, I try to describe step by step, hope you can understand me.
My XnView is 1.90 Alph2, and I choose 4 JPG files to test.
In the Batch Rename window, the Name template is <Creation>.
  1. In the Duplicate name window, Suffix is _##, enable Always and Number.
  2. The new names are 2006-08-30.jpg, 2006-09-01_01.jpg, 2006-09-01_02.jpg, 2006-09-01_03.jpg.
  3. Here is an error, the first new name should be 2006-08-30_01.jpg (because I enable the Always option).
  1. This time, I enable Always and Character.
  2. The new names become 2006-08-30.jpg, 2006-09-01_AC.jpg, 2006-09-01_AB.jpg, 2006-09-01_AC.jpg.
  3. Two errors.
Ok, i confirm
Pierre.
Nelson
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:44 pm
Location: Tao-Yuan, Taiwan
Contact:

Post by Nelson »

Not yet fixed in Alpha3.

When the "Always" and "Number" options are selected, the first file name can't be renamed well.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33840
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview »

Nelson wrote:Not yet fixed in Alpha3.

When the "Always" and "Number" options are selected, the first file name can't be renamed well.
Right with number & always
Pierre.
ckit
XnThusiast
Posts: 2446
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 1:11 am
Contact:

Post by ckit »

Fixed in Beta 1.
XnViewMP 64bits and Windows 10 Pro x64 2004
PhotoFiltre Studio X
Post Reply