Grid settings dialogue…

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Grid settings dialogue…

Post by Clo » Mon Sep 25, 2006 4:32 pm

—> Pierre

:) Hello !

• Thanks for that addition !

- There is a small :bug: though :
- The [OK] button doesn't close the box. However, the settings are applied using it,
but I ought use the Win [X] button or Alt+F4 to exit. :|

• An "active" caption is missing for the "Colour" button. I mean a caption for which one could set a hotkey to get the focus.
- In French, I added one, but only a "static" text, better than nothing…

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo

XnView 1.90 <x>
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
ouistiti
Posts: 353
Joined: Mon Oct 25, 2004 7:28 pm
Location: Belgique
Contact:

Post by ouistiti » Mon Sep 25, 2006 8:23 pm

:arrow: Clo

I confirm

Friendly

Paul
L'important n'est pas de convaincre, mais de donner à réfléchir.
The important thing is not to convince, but to incite to think.

1,77245385090552...

User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by JohnFredC » Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:34 pm

Perhaps that "Grid settings..." dialog was intended to be modeless?

In lieue of dynamic/mouse driven grid placement and spacing, perhaps a modeless grid dialog would be useful.

I miss a setting for grid offset, too.

Also, save/restore grids would help me.

This grid thing could be a very powerful tool: imagine using it for creating coordinate overlays for Google Earth images, or for slicing images to use on the internet, or for precisely panning very large images.

An entirely appropriate enhancement for XnView, IMHO.
John

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Nice to add !

Post by Clo » Tue Sep 26, 2006 4:34 pm

:) Hello John !

• Hum… Maybe… But can you confirm that the OK button doesn't close the box as it should?

• Indeed, the features you miss are very nice !

- Here I use the grid especially to get precise coordinates for my reactive pictures (Client Side Image) in my Manuals¦Tutorials.
- This allows to get a pseudo-"push-button" effect for the buttons and also the menu-titles I redraw as classic buttons…

• A long way to go still…

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8153
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: Nice to add !

Post by helmut » Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:25 pm

Clo wrote:• Hum… Maybe… But can you confirm that the OK button doesn't close the box as it should?
At first glance the "OK" button is broken, but actually it applies the new settings to the grid.
I think the intention of the GUI designer (Pierre?) is to provide a way to adjust the grid without opening the settings over and over again. If this is the case, the buttons' labels are completely wrong, these should be "Apply" and "Close".

Personally I'd prefer to see a normal dialog with "OK" and "Cancel". If a preview or temporary application of the new setting is really needed, there should be three buttons: "OK", "Apply", and "Cancel".

Grid behaviour when zooming
I just had a quick glance at the grid and found out that the grid remains the same whereas the image is zoomed. I'm not clear whether this behaviour is on purpose, one disadvantage I see in this behaviour is that you can never speak of "A3" since this depends on the Zoom level.

Spin buttons for the mousiacs
All the numeric fields should have spin buttons for quickly increasing/decreasing the values using the mouse. This applies for old dialogs, even more for new dialogs.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Yes, I said…

Post by Clo » Wed Sep 27, 2006 2:37 am

—> helmut

• Hi !
At first glance the "OK" button is broken, but actually it applies the new settings to the grid. …
- Yes, it's that I said in the start message above…
…I think the intention of the GUI designer (Pierre?) is to provide a way to adjust the grid without opening the settings over and over again. …
- Indeed, it's that we requested with regard to the similar feature in UniView - which is simpler, though - but really handy…
…If a preview or temporary application of the new setting is really needed, there should be three buttons: "OK", "Apply", and "Cancel". …
- I agree.
- This can be done currently by chance (I tested), since the “OK” button behaves like an “Apply” one ! But still, I checked in the French DLL : This is really an OK button… :?
…I just had a quick glance at the grid and found out that the grid remains the same whereas the image is zoomed. …
• This is the original behaviour which has never changed.
The mesh is not resized in the same ratio than the zoom percentage. And even, not resized at all !
- I think that is annoying for professional users, and perhaps so complicated to code a syncronization…

- Personally, like I said elsewhere, the most times I have to get the grid as one mesh = one pixel (to note coordinates).
- So, I found a simple workaround : I set the mesh as 16*16 and blow up the image X 16…
…Spin buttons for the mousiacs…
- They are indeed missing. Although I use mainly the mouse, it's not a big lacuna currently, we have only three values to type.
- I hope that Pierre'll add them later, we are in an Alpha still…

:mrgreen: G.
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8153
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Sun Nov 26, 2006 11:39 pm

The buttons are no named "Apply" and "Close". This is better, but not perfect. There should be "OK", "Apply" and "Cancel" (see above post).

-> Confirmed.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

No button pb.

Post by Clo » Sun Nov 26, 2006 11:53 pm

—> helmut

• Hi !

• In ß-1, it has been fixed, as far as I see. We have now an Apply and a Close button, both work normally.

- However, the caption for the Colour button is still missing, and further, some reasonable requests remain pending

:mrgreen: G.
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8153
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: No button pb.

Post by helmut » Mon Nov 27, 2006 7:18 pm

Clo wrote:—> helmut

• Hi !

• In ß-1, it has been fixed, as far as I see. We have now an Apply and a Close button, both work normally.
Right. But the real solution is to have three buttons "OK", "Apply" and "Cancel" - not just two buttons.
Clo wrote:- However, the caption for the Colour button is still missing, and further, some reasonable requests remain pending
Yes - some more reasons to keep this bug report in state "Open".

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31002
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: No button pb.

Post by xnview » Tue Nov 28, 2006 7:41 am

helmut wrote:
Clo wrote:—> helmut

• Hi !

• In ß-1, it has been fixed, as far as I see. We have now an Apply and a Close button, both work normally.
Right. But the real solution is to have three buttons "OK", "Apply" and "Cancel" - not just two buttons.
Why? Apply is the same as OK
Pierre.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Wishes pending

Post by Clo » Thu Nov 30, 2006 9:43 pm

:arrow: Pierre

:) Hello !

• The buttons can do the trick for me now. In ß-2, the "Colour" caption is there.

• But, forging ahead, maybe could you consider the other additions requested in my previous message above ? TIA !

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Last edited by Clo on Thu Nov 30, 2006 10:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8153
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: No button pb.

Post by helmut » Thu Nov 30, 2006 10:06 pm

xnview wrote:Why? Apply is the same as OK
There are three functions:
1. Apply setting and close dialog. (OK)
2. Apply setting - do not close dialog (Apply)
3. Cancel the latest changes and close the dialog (Cancel)

So there should be three buttons. Since the dialog is very small, there is no real need for three buttons, but it would be consistent with other dialogs (e.g. Windows' Options dialogs). And perhaps one day the XnView's option dialog will have three buttons, too. ;-)

Moved to --> "New/Open" for further discussions.

User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by JohnFredC » Fri Dec 01, 2006 1:43 am

The current buttons are appropriate for a non-modal dialog (which I think the grid config should be). But it isn't. (The adjust popup should also be non-modal. I'd just leave it open most of the time, if I could.)

Also, I am confused by the X and Y grid settings:

If I set X and Y to 100, I get a grid, 100 pixels square. But in 1.90 B1, if I zoom the image while the grid is displayed, the grid maintains its size on the screen instead of zooming with the image.

For my purposes, the grid is about the image, not the screen. If I zoom the image, the grid should also zoom as if it was painted directly into the image. So if I set a value of 100 for X and Y, that should indicate 100 pixels of the image, not the screen.

I hope that is clear.

Also, I frequently use the grid to inspect the rectilinearity of the geometry of architecture in photos. It is important for me that I be able to offset the grid to line it up with features in the photos. Some way of setting the grid offset (from the origin) is very important for that... either settings in the dialog ("Offset X" and "Offset Y") and/or dragging the grid with the mouse would work.
John

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

"Your" Advanced page…

Post by Clo » Fri Dec 01, 2006 2:33 am

:) Hello John !

• Nice to see your message here, I have sent you a telepathic call one hour ago !

• Seriously (though that I say above is true), I've already reported the issue of zooming with the grid…
- In the ß-2, some basic settings are missing still, like I noticed in this OTHER THREAD.
- There is a fake capture on which I planned an “Advanced” button.
It should open “your” page for the advanced grid features you need.
- I guess this could be possible, maybe not in this version, but good to plan for a next close one…

- So, I¦we would like to see that you imagine for such a page, whether you can draw this without a too long time wasting.

:mrgreen: Kind regards,
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Post by JohnFredC » Fri Dec 01, 2006 4:47 am

Hi Clo...

I'll mock up a dialog in Delphi or Access and post screen snapshot of it over the weekend.
John

Post Reply