v41 - picture conversion window - description: keep original

Moderator: xnview

User avatar
masterjp
Posts: 669
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:37 pm
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

v41 - picture conversion window - description: keep original

Post by masterjp »

In the Conversion window, there is a checkbox labeled "Keep Original." I find the description is a bit misleading if you're not familiar with the program or don't work with images very often. Instead, I might rename it "META-DATA" or "EXIF Data."
PC: Intel 8700k + Asus Z370-F + 48 GB RAM Corsair+G.Skill + Asus RTX 3050 OC
OS: Windows 11 Pro 64bit 25H2 |
GFX: XnViewMP 1.11.5 | Adobe Photoshop Elements 2024 + Elements XXL 11
Android 8-16: Samsung S7, S10, S23, TAB S7, S11, Ugoos AM7 TV-Box
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 48738
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: v41 - picture conversion window - description: keep original

Post by xnview »

It's not for metadata, but to keep original file
User avatar
masterjp
Posts: 669
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:37 pm
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Re: v41 - picture conversion window - description: keep original

Post by masterjp »

'Keep Original' mean original size or what do you mean?
PC: Intel 8700k + Asus Z370-F + 48 GB RAM Corsair+G.Skill + Asus RTX 3050 OC
OS: Windows 11 Pro 64bit 25H2 |
GFX: XnViewMP 1.11.5 | Adobe Photoshop Elements 2024 + Elements XXL 11
Android 8-16: Samsung S7, S10, S23, TAB S7, S11, Ugoos AM7 TV-Box
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 48738
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: v41 - picture conversion window - description: keep original

Post by xnview »

masterjp wrote: Thu Aug 20, 2026 6:53 am 'Keep Original' mean original size or what do you mean?
'Remove original file' will be better?
User avatar
masterjp
Posts: 669
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:37 pm
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Re: v41 - picture conversion window - description: keep original

Post by masterjp »

Now I understand what you mean with 'keep original'. :idea:

I would describe it with 'keep original file'.

Then it's self-explanatory to me. :)
PC: Intel 8700k + Asus Z370-F + 48 GB RAM Corsair+G.Skill + Asus RTX 3050 OC
OS: Windows 11 Pro 64bit 25H2 |
GFX: XnViewMP 1.11.5 | Adobe Photoshop Elements 2024 + Elements XXL 11
Android 8-16: Samsung S7, S10, S23, TAB S7, S11, Ugoos AM7 TV-Box
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 48738
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: v41 - picture conversion window - description: keep original

Post by xnview »

'keep original file' or 'Remove original file'? :)
Kadet
Posts: 457
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2022 7:23 pm

Re: v41 - picture conversion window - description: keep original

Post by Kadet »

I think if it's going to be confusing, maybe it's better if there was no choice and always kept the original.
User avatar
masterjp
Posts: 669
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 4:37 pm
Location: Duesseldorf, Germany

Re: v41 - picture conversion window - description: keep original

Post by masterjp »

People who work with images professionally or who are passionate about photography in their free time would never delete the original files after converting them. After all, the main reason for converting them is often to upload them more quickly to the Internet (including social media) or to share them with family, friends, acquaintances, etc.
PC: Intel 8700k + Asus Z370-F + 48 GB RAM Corsair+G.Skill + Asus RTX 3050 OC
OS: Windows 11 Pro 64bit 25H2 |
GFX: XnViewMP 1.11.5 | Adobe Photoshop Elements 2024 + Elements XXL 11
Android 8-16: Samsung S7, S10, S23, TAB S7, S11, Ugoos AM7 TV-Box
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 48738
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: v41 - picture conversion window - description: keep original

Post by xnview »

ok, so for now, i hide it
User avatar
user0
XnThusiast
Posts: 3129
Joined: Sat May 09, 2015 9:37 am

Re: v41 - picture conversion window - description: keep original

Post by user0 »

xnview wrote: Thu Aug 20, 2026 8:34 am 'keep original file' or 'Remove original file'? :)
wording should be like this:
- remove - a non-destructive action that removes an item from the current list,collection,etc.
- delete - a destructive action that permanently deletes an item, eg a file

it is fine to delete the original as part of the workflow,
but the command should be 'Delete original', not 'Keep original'