Save copy or overwrite

Moderator: xnview

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 48640
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Save copy or overwrite

Post by xnview »

Currently for many tools, i use 'save copy' but for rotate/flip i use overwrite.

Perhaps it will be better to choose between 'Save copy'/'Overwrite' for every tools?
And if 'overwrite', i think that it will be good to backup the original file, trash bin or a special folder of XnView? Can be emptyied after 30 days for example.
User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

Re: Save copy or overwrite

Post by B.Douille »

Best if consistent, same workflow for all tools

I support the idea of creating a safe copy (hidden like for a delete). Once this done, I would prefer an overwrite. It’s faster process.
Daniel, happy user for 20 years, to manage photo and videos and share them in slideshows (Windows 11, Linux Ubuntu and Android)