Save copy or overwrite

Moderator: xnview

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 48918
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Save copy or overwrite

Post by xnview »

Currently for many tools, i use 'save copy' but for rotate/flip i use overwrite.

Perhaps it will be better to choose between 'Save copy'/'Overwrite' for every tools?
And if 'overwrite', i think that it will be good to backup the original file, trash bin or a special folder of XnView? Can be emptyied after 30 days for example.
User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

Re: Save copy or overwrite

Post by B.Douille »

Best if consistent, same workflow for all tools

I support the idea of creating a safe copy (hidden like for a delete). Once this done, I would prefer an overwrite. It’s faster process.
Daniel, happy user for 20 years, to manage photo and videos and share them in slideshows (Windows 11, Linux Ubuntu and Android)
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 48918
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Save copy or overwrite

Post by xnview »

Please check watermark in v60
User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

Re: Save copy or overwrite

Post by B.Douille »

Checked v60. I The behavioral is different whether or not the app has got the "All file" authorisation or not.
Also, the saving process takes a bit of computing time before the saving options becomes available and again after choosing (I believe it’s the conversion process, even if the in and out formats are the same). My view is mixing changes and conversion leads to a waste if time and resources (CPU==Battery).

If "All files" access is authorised, sometimes only the Save a copy option is available and the Overwrite option is greyed. And rather than always saving a file with a new name in the original folder, it may save the modified copy in the last folder used (used for a move for exemple). To me, it's too complex, I didn't understand and took a headache :?

If "All files" access not authorised, the app suggest both options and it seems to work fine. However 2 more questions arise: Select/confirm access to the folder, confirm saving. As said, the "All files" access should always be authorised.

Aftet a lot of trials I found a Backup item in the main menu. This looks good and as said should help reducing the options, keep the saving process kick and simple.
My conclusion : Just one "Save" button that act as an overwritebut safely (move the original in the Backup location and save the modified copy in the original folder).
Even no conversion at the time. Few people would used it in combination with Crop, Rotate, Adjustments, Watermarks,... and it's faster.
Daniel, happy user for 20 years, to manage photo and videos and share them in slideshows (Windows 11, Linux Ubuntu and Android)
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 48918
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Save copy or overwrite

Post by xnview »

B.Douille wrote: Sun Sep 20, 2026 9:26 pm Also, the saving process takes a bit of computing time before the saving options becomes available and again after choosing (I believe it’s the conversion process, even if the in and out formats are the same). My view is mixing changes and conversion leads to a waste if time and resources (CPU==Battery).
Yes right, for the checking of destination filename. Updated.
If "All files" access is authorised, sometimes only the Save a copy option is available and the Overwrite option is greyed. And rather than always saving a file with a new name in the original folder, it may save the modified copy in the last folder used (used for a move for exemple). To me, it's too complex, I didn't understand and took a headache :?
Changed

Please check v61
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 48918
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Save copy or overwrite

Post by xnview »

Please check v63
User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 418
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

Re: Save copy or overwrite

Post by B.Douille »

I see the request for "All files access" is now done on 1st save. Which is right. If the user refuse, there are no other opportunity, no reminder but he can always change it via the Parameters>General menu.
Can we add this last information in the info-window below?
20260923_234051_Screenshot_20260923_234051_XnView.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Daniel, happy user for 20 years, to manage photo and videos and share them in slideshows (Windows 11, Linux Ubuntu and Android)