seperate Preview layout

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
Koogle

seperate Preview layout

Post by Koogle »

Anyway the feature request was to be able to have the preview frame in browser mode detachable from the XnView window.. Or maybe just have an option to open up a preview window on it own.. and then I can close the preview window in Xnview

It would in my opinion be a great way of using one screen to open up a folder full of thumbnails and then have a seperate preview window opened up on another screen that you could resize or and move around. Much better workflow would be possible IMO :)

please make it happen :D
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33865
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: seperate Preview layout

Post by xnview »

Koogle wrote:Anyway the feature request was to be able to have the preview frame in browser mode detachable from the XnView window.. Or maybe just have an option to open up a preview window on it own.. and then I can close the preview window in Xnview

It would in my opinion be a great way of using one screen to open up a folder full of thumbnails and then have a seperate preview window opened up on another screen that you could resize or and move around. Much better workflow would be possible IMO :)
If you use the fullscreen and 2 screens, you have the browser on 1 screen, and the preview on another
Pierre.
Guest

Post by Guest »

thanks.. well I tried that.. and it sort of works.. only it seems a little buggy.

first problem is that in the options>view>Fullscreen.. It doesn't seem to matter if I have this option ticked.. "Dual Monitor, use second monitor" it always opens up fullscreen on monitor 1..

second problem is that if I do move the browser onto Monitor 2, and then fullscreen an image(onto Monitor 1) .. I lose the mouse pointer, so i can't select images very easily, without clicking everywhere and hope I get an image.. also on one occasion the whole browser window went black, so I couldn't even see the images. it was kinda buggy that time..trying it again and again that problem has gone, but the mouse pointer doesn't appear so its still no good.

I still think it would be nicer to get a preview window that I could adjust its size, and place it anyway on the screen(s) and have the previews resize to fit into that window. but maybe a lot of programming would be involved?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33865
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview »

Anonymous wrote:thanks.. well I tried that.. and it sort of works.. only it seems a little buggy.

first problem is that in the options>view>Fullscreen.. It doesn't seem to matter if I have this option ticked.. "Dual Monitor, use second monitor" it always opens up fullscreen on monitor 1..
When using F11 in browser?
second problem is that if I do move the browser onto Monitor 2, and then fullscreen an image(onto Monitor 1) .. I lose the mouse pointer, so i can't select images very easily, without clicking everywhere and hope I get an image.. also on one occasion the whole browser window went black, so I couldn't even see the images. it was kinda buggy that time..trying it again and again that problem has gone, but the mouse pointer doesn't appear so its still no good.
A known bug
Pierre.
Koogle
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:23 pm

Post by Koogle »

F11 doesn't seem to do anything in the browser mode? is it meant too?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33865
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview »

Koogle wrote:F11 doesn't seem to do anything in the browser mode? is it meant too?
F11 or Fullscreen don't work?
Pierre.
Koogle
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:23 pm

Post by Koogle »

yeah nevermind F11 does work.. strange it wasn't..

hope the dual monitor bug can be fixed
User avatar
GeorgD
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:45 pm

Post by GeorgD »

Anonymous wrote:second problem is that if I do move the browser onto Monitor 2, and then fullscreen an image(onto Monitor 1) .. I lose the mouse pointer, so i can't select images very easily, without clicking everywhere and hope I get an image..
Workaround (for 1.9alpha3): Move your mouse to the monitor showing full screen mode. Then, move it back to browser. It's now clearly visible :shock:
Post Reply