seperate Preview layout

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
Koogle

seperate Preview layout

Post by Koogle » Mon Sep 18, 2006 5:57 pm

Anyway the feature request was to be able to have the preview frame in browser mode detachable from the XnView window.. Or maybe just have an option to open up a preview window on it own.. and then I can close the preview window in Xnview

It would in my opinion be a great way of using one screen to open up a folder full of thumbnails and then have a seperate preview window opened up on another screen that you could resize or and move around. Much better workflow would be possible IMO :)

please make it happen :D

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33644
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: seperate Preview layout

Post by xnview » Tue Sep 19, 2006 6:42 am

Koogle wrote:Anyway the feature request was to be able to have the preview frame in browser mode detachable from the XnView window.. Or maybe just have an option to open up a preview window on it own.. and then I can close the preview window in Xnview

It would in my opinion be a great way of using one screen to open up a folder full of thumbnails and then have a seperate preview window opened up on another screen that you could resize or and move around. Much better workflow would be possible IMO :)
If you use the fullscreen and 2 screens, you have the browser on 1 screen, and the preview on another
Pierre.

Guest

Post by Guest » Tue Sep 19, 2006 11:35 pm

thanks.. well I tried that.. and it sort of works.. only it seems a little buggy.

first problem is that in the options>view>Fullscreen.. It doesn't seem to matter if I have this option ticked.. "Dual Monitor, use second monitor" it always opens up fullscreen on monitor 1..

second problem is that if I do move the browser onto Monitor 2, and then fullscreen an image(onto Monitor 1) .. I lose the mouse pointer, so i can't select images very easily, without clicking everywhere and hope I get an image.. also on one occasion the whole browser window went black, so I couldn't even see the images. it was kinda buggy that time..trying it again and again that problem has gone, but the mouse pointer doesn't appear so its still no good.

I still think it would be nicer to get a preview window that I could adjust its size, and place it anyway on the screen(s) and have the previews resize to fit into that window. but maybe a lot of programming would be involved?

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33644
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Thu Sep 21, 2006 7:42 am

Anonymous wrote:thanks.. well I tried that.. and it sort of works.. only it seems a little buggy.

first problem is that in the options>view>Fullscreen.. It doesn't seem to matter if I have this option ticked.. "Dual Monitor, use second monitor" it always opens up fullscreen on monitor 1..
When using F11 in browser?
second problem is that if I do move the browser onto Monitor 2, and then fullscreen an image(onto Monitor 1) .. I lose the mouse pointer, so i can't select images very easily, without clicking everywhere and hope I get an image.. also on one occasion the whole browser window went black, so I couldn't even see the images. it was kinda buggy that time..trying it again and again that problem has gone, but the mouse pointer doesn't appear so its still no good.
A known bug
Pierre.

Koogle
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:23 pm

Post by Koogle » Thu Sep 21, 2006 5:46 pm

F11 doesn't seem to do anything in the browser mode? is it meant too?

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 33644
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Fri Sep 22, 2006 6:46 am

Koogle wrote:F11 doesn't seem to do anything in the browser mode? is it meant too?
F11 or Fullscreen don't work?
Pierre.

Koogle
Posts: 107
Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 3:23 pm

Post by Koogle » Sun Sep 24, 2006 7:13 pm

yeah nevermind F11 does work.. strange it wasn't..

hope the dual monitor bug can be fixed

User avatar
GeorgD
Posts: 283
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:45 pm

Post by GeorgD » Sun Oct 15, 2006 6:34 pm

Anonymous wrote:second problem is that if I do move the browser onto Monitor 2, and then fullscreen an image(onto Monitor 1) .. I lose the mouse pointer, so i can't select images very easily, without clicking everywhere and hope I get an image..
Workaround (for 1.9alpha3): Move your mouse to the monitor showing full screen mode. Then, move it back to browser. It's now clearly visible :shock:

Post Reply