Copy speed

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
neutrino1
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:27 pm
Location: California

Copy speed

Post by neutrino1 » Thu Feb 28, 2008 2:10 pm

I used the search function in XnView to find all the images that had a string in the description. It found about 7,500 files. I selected all the files and told XnView to copy all of them to a directory on a different logical drive.

XnView did this VERY, VERY, VERY slowly. It took about one second per file which would not have been too bad if it had a Skip All button.

Is this a normal speed for XnView?

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 29600
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Copy speed

Post by xnview » Thu Feb 28, 2008 4:03 pm

neutrino1 wrote:Is this a normal speed for XnView?
No, which OS? Your DB cache is big? Do you have description?
Pierre.

neutrino1
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:27 pm
Location: California

Re: Copy speed

Post by neutrino1 » Thu Feb 28, 2008 6:21 pm

xnview wrote:
neutrino1 wrote:Is this a normal speed for XnView?
No, which OS?
Windows XP Home SP2
xnview wrote:Your DB cache is big? Do you have description?
I do not know what you mean by DB cache. All the files have descriptions.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 29600
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Copy speed

Post by xnview » Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:14 pm

neutrino1 wrote:
xnview wrote:Your DB cache is big? Do you have description?
I do not know what you mean by DB cache. All the files have descriptions.
Option/Thumbnail/Cache
And description from descript.ion file?
Pierre.

neutrino1
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:27 pm
Location: California

Re: Copy speed

Post by neutrino1 » Thu Feb 28, 2008 7:50 pm

xnview wrote:
neutrino1 wrote:
xnview wrote:Your DB cache is big? Do you have description?
I do not know what you mean by DB cache. All the files have descriptions.
Option/Thumbnail/Cache
And description from descript.ion file?
I did have the Option/Thumbnail/Cache turned on. There are four cache files. The largest one is 3,390,523 bytes.

The largest descript.ion files I have now is 187 K but it was probably at least 40 K smaller when I copied the files.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 29600
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Copy speed

Post by xnview » Fri Feb 29, 2008 7:44 am

neutrino1 wrote: The largest descript.ion files I have now is 187 K but it was probably at least 40 K smaller when I copied the files.
Your files are all in the same folder?
Could you try to copy but rename the descript.ion file before?
Pierre.

neutrino1
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:27 pm
Location: California

Re: Copy speed

Post by neutrino1 » Fri Feb 29, 2008 9:59 am

xnview wrote:
neutrino1 wrote: The largest descript.ion files I have now is 187 K but it was probably at least 40 K smaller when I copied the files.
Your files are all in the same folder?
Could you try to copy but rename the descript.ion file before?
The files are in several different folders. That is why I used the Search function.

Is it safe to rename descript.ion files. I suppose I could rename all the description files but there are more than 140 of them. Only 17 of the description files are over 10 K in size and only three of them are over 100 K. Can I rename just the larger ones? If so, what size limit should I use?

Can I use the search function to find the files that have the description I want and then rename the description file? Obviously, if I rename the description file first, I will not be able to find the files.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 29600
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Copy speed

Post by xnview » Fri Feb 29, 2008 1:11 pm

neutrino1 wrote:
xnview wrote:
neutrino1 wrote: The largest descript.ion files I have now is 187 K but it was probably at least 40 K smaller when I copied the files.
Your files are all in the same folder?
Could you try to copy but rename the descript.ion file before?
The files are in several different folders. That is why I used the Search function.

Is it safe to rename descript.ion files. I suppose I could rename all the description files but there are more than 140 of them. Only 17 of the description files are over 10 K in size and only three of them are over 100 K. Can I rename just the larger ones? If so, what size limit should I use?

Can I use the search function to find the files that have the description I want and then rename the description file? Obviously, if I rename the description file first, I will not be able to find the files.
It's a test to find where is the problem.
Is it possible to create a copy of you root folder, delete in it all descriptions, and try to make the copy by xnview? (i would like ot know if the problem is description)
Pierre.

neutrino1
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:27 pm
Location: California

Re: Copy speed

Post by neutrino1 » Fri Feb 29, 2008 10:08 pm

xnview wrote:
neutrino1 wrote:
xnview wrote: Your files are all in the same folder?
Could you try to copy but rename the descript.ion file before?
The files are in several different folders. That is why I used the Search function.

Is it safe to rename descript.ion files. I suppose I could rename all the description files but there are more than 140 of them. Only 17 of the description files are over 10 K in size and only three of them are over 100 K. Can I rename just the larger ones? If so, what size limit should I use?

Can I use the search function to find the files that have the description I want and then rename the description file? Obviously, if I rename the description file first, I will not be able to find the files.
It's a test to find where is the problem.
Is it possible to create a copy of you root folder, delete in it all descriptions, and try to make the copy by xnview? (i would like ot know if the problem is description)
I created a directory with 8,002 jpeg files without descriptions (1.1 GB) on my logical E: drive. I copied all the files to a directory on my logical D: drive. It took 16:22 with XnView.

I copied the files again with ACDSee 2.42 and it took 07:59. I realized that the difference might be because of the Windows cache so I copied the files again with XnView and it took 12:32 with XnView.

I created a directory with 8,194 jpeg files (3,243 with descriptions) (1.1 GB) on my logical E: drive. I copied all the files to a directory on my logical D: drive. This time I copied the files with ACDSee first. It took 08:29 with ACDSee.

I copied the files again with XnView and it took 46:15.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 29600
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Copy speed

Post by xnview » Sat Mar 01, 2008 7:48 am

neutrino1 wrote: I created a directory with 8,194 jpeg files (3,243 with descriptions) (1.1 GB) on my logical E: drive. I copied all the files to a directory on my logical D: drive. This time I copied the files with ACDSee first. It took 08:29 with ACDSee.

I copied the files again with XnView and it took 46:15.
Ok, so the problem seems to be the description :-(
Could you send me your email by PM, i would like to send you a test version?
Pierre.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 29600
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Copy speed

Post by xnview » Wed Mar 05, 2008 8:43 am

Do you have received it?
Pierre.

neutrino1
Posts: 16
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 1:27 pm
Location: California

Re: Copy speed

Post by neutrino1 » Wed Mar 12, 2008 6:55 pm

xnview wrote:Do you have received it?
I apologize for taking so long to respond. I have been more ill than usual.

Yes I received it and it is MUCH faster than the other version. I think it is about ten times as fast.

Do you want me to time it exactly?

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 29600
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Copy speed

Post by xnview » Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:17 pm

neutrino1 wrote:
xnview wrote:Do you have received it?
I apologize for taking so long to respond. I have been more ill than usual.

Yes I received it and it is MUCH faster than the other version. I think it is about ten times as fast.

Do you want me to time it exactly?
No exact time is not needed. Thank you for testing and your reply!
Pierre.

Post Reply