Don't start Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) Service (DONE)

Ideas for improvements and requests for new features in XnView Classic

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Dstruct
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 9:27 am

Post by Dstruct »

xnview wrote:Xp
which service pack?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36797
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Post by xnview »

Dstruct wrote:
xnview wrote:Xp
which service pack?
I've tried with SP2 and SP3
Pierre.
Dstruct
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 9:27 am

Post by Dstruct »

xnview wrote:I've tried with SP2 and SP3
Mmh, strange. Did you also look at the event-viewer?
Dstruct
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 9:27 am

Re: Don't start Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) Service

Post by Dstruct »

Dstruct wrote:Why does XnView always start the "Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) Service"? Which functions of XnView need this service? If it's really needed, wouldn't it make much more sense to start it just when really needed instead of starting it always?
Still the same with XnView 1.94.
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36797
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Don't start Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) Service

Post by xnview »

Dstruct wrote:
Dstruct wrote:Why does XnView always start the "Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) Service"? Which functions of XnView need this service? If it's really needed, wouldn't it make much more sense to start it just when really needed instead of starting it always?
Still the same with XnView 1.94.
I check only if WIA is available when you open the menu
Pierre.
Dstruct
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 9:27 am

Re: Don't start Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) Service

Post by Dstruct »

xnview wrote:I check only if WIA is available when you open the menu
I don't understand what you want to say with this ...
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36797
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Don't start Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) Service

Post by xnview »

Dstruct wrote:
xnview wrote:I check only if WIA is available when you open the menu
I don't understand what you want to say with this ...
When you open the menu of XnView, i check if WIA service is available to grey or not the menu entry
Pierre.
Dstruct
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 9:27 am

Re: Don't start Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) Service

Post by Dstruct »

xnview wrote:
Dstruct wrote:
xnview wrote:I check only if WIA is available when you open the menu
I don't understand what you want to say with this ...
When you open the menu of XnView, i check if WIA service is available to grey or not the menu entry

What do you mean with "if WIA service is available"? Of course the service is available on each Windows XP.

The question is: Why does it get started when opening XnView? I don't need the WIA service running as I don't have any devices (scanners, cameras ...) that need it.


IrfanView for example doesn't open the WIA service here! So why does XnView?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36797
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Don't start Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) Service

Post by xnview »

Dstruct wrote: What do you mean with "if WIA service is available"? Of course the service is available on each Windows XP.
No i check if a device is available
The question is: Why does it get started when opening XnView? I don't need the WIA service running as I don't have any devices (scanners, cameras ...) that need it.
You have that when you open XnView or when you open the menu?
IrfanView for example doesn't open the WIA service here! So why does XnView?
Ir*** has no WIA support.
Pierre.
Dstruct
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 9:27 am

Re: Don't start Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) Service

Post by Dstruct »

xnview wrote:No i check if a device is available
Then your check must be "buggy". There's no device on my system. If I select "Select TWAIN source..." in XnView then I only get an empty window! No "sources" available.

xnview wrote:You have that when you open XnView or when you open the menu?
When opening XnView.



But wait:

I just found the culprit: It's the "Browser" which triggers the WIA service to start! If I disable "Launch Browser at Startup", then the WIA service doesn't get started!

So does this help to fix it?
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 36797
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: Don't start Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) Service

Post by xnview »

Dstruct wrote: I just found the culprit: It's the "Browser" which triggers the WIA service to start! If I disable "Launch Browser at Startup", then the WIA service doesn't get started!

So does this help to fix it?
Ok, right. NoWIA works only in view mode, so i add it to browser mode too
Pierre.
Dstruct
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 9:27 am

Re: Don't start Windows Image Acquisition (WIA) Service

Post by Dstruct »

xnview wrote:Ok, right. NoWIA works only in view mode, so i add it to browser mode too
Mmh, doesn't seem to work properly in 1.94.1 :(

As soon as I open the browser in XnView, the WIA service always gets started!
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Bad in View

Post by Clo »

:arrow: Dstruct

:) Hello !

• Here, the WIA entry is greyed out in the Browser File menu, but it's still enabled in View
when starting with an empty window, or coming back from the browser with no image…
- In View, all entries of the File Menu are enabled (except the Import Clipboard when it's empty, of course).
- It's the same I showed above…
- To remind : There is not any WIA or scanner device here…

:mrgreen: VG
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice
Dstruct
Posts: 229
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 9:27 am

Re: Bad in View

Post by Dstruct »

Clo wrote:Here, the WIA entry is greyed out in the Browser File menu, but it's still enabled in View
Here the TWAIN/WIA source entry isn't greyed out in the browser nor the view. I also don't have any scanner or camera devices connected to machine.

I don't care if the entry itself is greyed out or not. But I don't want the WIA service to be started (cause I don't need it).

Does the WIA service gets started on your machine with 1.94.1 too?
User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France

Which EXE ?

Post by Clo »

:arrow: Dstruct

:) Again…

• Please, tell me which EXE (exact name) is running when the service is started, then I'll check in the Task Manager.

:mrgreen: Vg
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice