Screen layout not remembered.

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Joran
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 7:59 am

Screen layout not remembered.

Post by Joran » Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:03 pm

<Moderator's note: This topic has been split from another topic>

Thank you, it worked. Now I have another problem. XnView does not remember my screen layout: On the left side, the width of the folder / browser window is about 8 centimeters. When I exit and restart XnView, the width of the left side folder / browser window is reduced to about 2 centimeters, so I have to drag it to the right to see the preview pane (and the tabs with Properties and so on).

Jøran Toresen

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5531
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq » Wed Jan 31, 2007 10:35 pm

Joran wrote:XnView does not remember my screen layout
Hello Jøran,

go to Tools » Options... » Interface » Windows and activate the checkbox for Remember last window position/size.
helmut ([url=http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?t=75]Rules and Guidelines[/url]) wrote: - One problem/question per post.
Please start one topic per problem/question. This will make answering easier.
Welcome to the forum :)
Last edited by XnTriq on Thu Feb 01, 2007 4:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

Joran
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 7:59 am

Post by Joran » Wed Jan 31, 2007 11:35 pm

Hello

Thank you. The option is activated, but XnView still does not remember my layout.

Jøran Toresen

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32454
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Thu Feb 01, 2007 7:26 am

Joran wrote:Hello

Thank you. The option is activated, but XnView still does not remember my layout.

Jøran Toresen
Could you try with a clean xnview.ini?
Pierre.

Joran
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 7:59 am

Post by Joran » Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:14 am

Hello. I deleted the (old) ini-file, and now it’s ok. (I installed version 1.9 without uninstalling version 1.82).

Jøran Toresen

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5531
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq » Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:05 pm

Jøran, this might be the solution:
Rolf Wiegand ([url=http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?t=11724]How to save the window configuration[/url]) wrote:
xnview wrote:
Anonymous wrote: I am having the same problem. I did an uninstall of the 1.82 version before I installed the 1.90 version, and I use the .ini to save.
Try with a clean .ini?
That worked. :) I renamed the old .ini to .saf and saved a new .ini after I created all the settings... it saved the window positions just fine. :) Thanks for a great program!

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32454
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Fri Feb 02, 2007 7:55 am

If you have the problem, please send me your xnview.ini, i must check the problem...
Pierre.

001dms
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 9:42 pm

I have the problem too

Post by 001dms » Sat Feb 03, 2007 3:42 pm

I have the same problem. I have attached my xnview.ini file. (I tried to email it to you, Pierre, but it bounced back saying you were over your quota!)

Steve.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32454
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: I have the problem too

Post by xnview » Mon Feb 05, 2007 12:41 pm

001dms wrote:I have the same problem. I have attached my xnview.ini file. (I tried to email it to you, Pierre, but it bounced back saying you were over your quota!)

Steve.
Ok, MaximizeXnviewAtStartup=1 seems to be the problem!!!
Try to delete this line...
Pierre.

001dms
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 9:42 pm

Still doesn't work

Post by 001dms » Mon Feb 05, 2007 9:58 pm

I have deleted the line, then relaunched xnview. The problem remains, I'm afraid.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Fish at dinner

Post by Clo » Mon Feb 05, 2007 10:29 pm

:arrow: Pierre

:) Hello !

:shock:

>>•<<

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32454
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Still doesn't work

Post by xnview » Tue Feb 06, 2007 7:54 am

001dms wrote:I have deleted the line, then relaunched xnview. The problem remains, I'm afraid.
Please send me your xnview.ini
Pierre.

marhyo
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:49 pm

Post by marhyo » Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:09 pm

There's no such file as xnview.ini on my computer and this problem still exists. I uninstalled and reinstalled Xnview, but nothing helps. I searched for this file and there's none. What else can I do, before I go back to the old version and where can I find it?

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32454
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:15 pm

marhyo wrote:There's no such file as xnview.ini on my computer and this problem still exists. I uninstalled and reinstalled Xnview, but nothing helps. I searched for this file and there's none. What else can I do, before I go back to the old version and where can I find it?
Do you use registry?? Options/integration
Pierre.

marhyo
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 3:49 pm

Post by marhyo » Tue Feb 06, 2007 4:16 pm

Yes. Registry. What should I do now?

Post Reply