Toolbar buttons for “cmd_Cut” & “cmd_Copy”

Bugs and Suggestions in XnView Classic which have been resolved

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5434
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Toolbar buttons for “cmd_Cut” & “cmd_Copy”

Post by XnTriq » Wed Nov 26, 2008 1:50 am

XnView v1.95.3 won't use icon #37/#38 in main.bmp/main32.bmp when I'm adding buttons for cmd_Cut [ Cut ] and/or cmd_Copy [ Copy ] to the Browser's toolbar.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

No pb. if---

Post by Clo » Wed Nov 26, 2008 2:47 am

:arrow: XnTriq

:) Hello W. !

• No more problem here, these patterns are displayed alright from the main.bmp with 1.95.3-4…

- All former issues and possible solutions are in the threads you link…
- Now, I created one *.bar file per skin (of mine) I use, I set the skin then place the INI in the related skin sub folder…
- I wrote a bunch of *.bat files to change the INI, thus the skin easily.

- Oddness : It's needed to set again the skin in the Options >> Appearance
and to replace again the related INI of the skin -while all entries are OK, already.
Or else, the icon size is wrong (remains to the previous skin one), to do once only.

- Ensure you that your <info.txt> files are updated with version = 4
- You could test with "Version 4" skins -I have a lot on my Web page-
(including the famous "Text" one for blind people +Text-Voice converter ! :P)

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5434
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: No pb. if---

Post by XnTriq » Thu Nov 27, 2008 3:00 am

Thanks for your detailed response, Clo. :-)
Clo wrote:- Ensure you that your <info> files are updated with version = 4
- You could test with "Version 4" skins -I have a lot on my Web page-
(including the famous "Text" one for blind people +Text-Voice converter ! :P)
Prior to filing this bug report I went through all available 4th-generation skins — with the exception of “Cathy”. :mrgreen: Under Windows 2000 XnView cannot use main32.bmp, because the OS doesn't provide native alpha blending for the toolbar(s). Therefor I've come to believe that this problem has to do with the internal mapping of the icons in main.bmp only.

Note: Contrary to the info given in my previous post it's v1.95.4 I'm talking about.
C:\Program Files\XnView\xnview.ini wrote:

Code: Select all

[Start]
BToolBar=1
BarFilename=C:\Program Files\XnView\foo.bar
FlatButtonInToolbar=1
ShowTextInToolbar=0
ShowToolTipsInToolbar=1
ToolbarBrowserConfig=-1
ToolbarBrowserConfigHigh=-1
ToolbarName=
ToolbarViewConfig=-1
ToolbarViewConfigHigh=-1
VToolBar=1
C:\Program Files\XnView\foo.bar wrote:

Code: Select all

[Default Toolbar]
count=0

[View Toolbar]
count=2
button1=36
button2=37

[Browser Toolbar]
count=2
button1=-1
button2=-1

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Custom bar file---

Post by Clo » Thu Nov 27, 2008 7:33 am

:arrow: XnTriq

:) Hello W. !

• Below, a part of my bar file <cathy.bar> where the “Copy” pattern is set and works :
[View Toolbar]
count=23
button1=17
button2=0
button3=1
button4=3
button5=2
button6=42
button7=27
button8=31
button9=23
button10=5
button11=4
button12=34
button13=6
button14=7
button15=8
button16=9
button17=16
button18=44
button19=37
button20=15
button21=E:\XnVIew_190_beta\skins\Cathy\Ico_Plus\ico_00.ico
cmd21=CD E:\A1
button22=.\skins\Cathy\Ico_Plus\Ca¦n¦evas.ico
cmd22=cmd_CanvasResize
button23=35
• I don't use the main32.bmp either under XP-Pro because I set my screen as 16 BPP the most times.

- I would advise you to create a custom < MyDaughter.bar> file by hand like I did, and set it according to a certain V. 4 skin…
… and to complete with a few matching extra icons (even just with text or very succintcly drawn).
- Also, to move the old outdated skins into a repository folder… Good luck ! :P

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
OT note : that damn forum has hung totally when I began to answer…
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5434
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Custom bar file---

Post by XnTriq » Fri Nov 28, 2008 5:15 am

Clo wrote:• Below, a part of my bar file <cathy> where the “Copy” pattern is set and works :
[View Toolbar]
count=23
button1=17
button2=0
button3=1
button4=3
button5=2
button6=42
button7=27
button8=31
button9=23
button10=5
button11=4
button12=34
button13=6
button14=7
button15=8
button16=9
button17=16
button18=44
button19=37
button20=15
button21=E:\XnVIew_190_beta\skins\Cathy\Ico_Plus\ico_00.ico
cmd21=CD E:\A1
button22=.\skins\Cathy\Ico_Plus\Ca¦n¦evas.ico
cmd22=cmd_CanvasResize
button23=35
Yes, in View mode everything works just fine. The Browser toolbar is the one that doesn't behave:
C:\Program Files\XnView\foo.bar wrote:

Code: Select all

[Browser Toolbar]
count=2
button1=-1
button2=-1
Editing foo.bar manually has no effect. :?
Clo wrote:- I would advise you to create a custom < MyDaughter.bar> file by hand like I did, and set it according to a certain V. 4 skin…
… and to complete with a few matching extra icons (even just with text or very succintcly drawn).
- Also, to move the old outdated skins into a repository folder…
These were actually the first steps I took in order to eliminate any user errors on my part.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Only custom names

Post by Clo » Fri Nov 28, 2008 6:09 am

:arrow: XnTriq

:) Hello !

• All patterns work here in all bars now, but I suppressed the foo.bar and default.bar, using only custom bar names !
@ home :
Cathy.bar
clo-s_project.bar
Losanges.bar
Medals.bar
Miroirs.bar
- It seems that the standard names put a mess when you configure your bars in some cases.
- Sorry, further I see only holy water, blessed candles and incantations… :P

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5434
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Only custom names

Post by XnTriq » Mon Dec 01, 2008 5:05 pm

I would appreciate if any Windows 2K user out there (Am I the last of our kind?) could verify this bug.

Here's a short summary:
  • XnView v1.95.4 on Windows 2000 SP4
  • Adding cmd_Copy/cmd_Cut to the View toolbar works.
  • Adding cmd_Copy/cmd_Cut to the Browser toolbar only works, if you specify an external icon (e.g. Copy.ico/Cut.ico) to the button. Otherwise, a separator for each command is added to the toolbar.
    Expected behavior: Icon #36/#37 of the chosen skin should be assigned to the buttons.

User avatar
ckv
Posts: 779
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 2:30 pm
Location: Glow
Contact:

Re: Only custom names

Post by ckv » Mon Dec 01, 2008 7:33 pm

XnTriq wrote:I would appreciate if any Windows 2K user out there (Am I the last of our kind?) could verify this bug.

Here's a short summary:
  • XnView v1.95.4 on Windows 2000 SP4
  • Adding cmd_Copy/cmd_Cut to the View toolbar works.
  • Adding cmd_Copy/cmd_Cut to the Browser toolbar only works, if you specify an external icon (e.g. Copy.ico/Cut.ico) to the button. Otherwise, a separator for each command is added to the toolbar.
    Expected behavior: Icon #36/#37 of the chosen skin should be assigned to the buttons.
:bugconfirmed: Confirmed on Windows 2000 SP4.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31607
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Toolbar buttons for “cmd_Cut” & “cmd_Copy”

Post by xnview » Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:01 am

Please try XnView 1.96 beta
Pierre.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5434
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Toolbar buttons for “cmd_Cut” & “cmd_Copy”

Post by XnTriq » Sat Jan 10, 2009 6:35 pm

xnview wrote:Please try XnView 1.96 beta
Fixed!

Post Reply