[1.96] Batch processing: Problems with using/saving scripts

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, helmut, xnview

johannes.kastl
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:51 pm

[1.96] Batch processing: Problems with using/saving scripts

Post by johannes.kastl »

Good Morning,

when converting several pictures at once, the "Batch Processing" in Xnview is a killer. But after upgrading from 1.80 (2005?) to the latest one (1.96), two issues appeared:

When saving scrips, the output folder, the JPEG options and the settings are also saved. Can this behaviour be changed? Especially the output folder.

When opening a script the checkbox on the left is not checked. Nevertheless the script is used, with and without the checkbox. What use it this?
Bug? Feature?

Regards,
Johannes
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 38711
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France

Re: [1.96] Batch processing: Problems with using/saving scripts

Post by xnview »

johannes.kastl wrote: When saving scrips, the output folder, the JPEG options and the settings are also saved. Can this behaviour be changed? Especially the output folder.
No, you can find a long discussion about this new behavior. But why?
When opening a script the checkbox on the left is not checked. Nevertheless the script is used, with and without the checkbox. What use it this?
Bug? Feature?
Seems to be a bug
Pierre.
johannes.kastl
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:51 pm

Re: [1.96] Batch processing: Problems with using/saving scripts

Post by johannes.kastl »

It is no problem to manually delete the line with the output folder in the script. So its not that big an issue.

Still it would be nice if things like that could be configured. Let the user decide. But as you hinted, this is stuff for long long discussions.

BTW: Where to find the discussion you mentioned? The search seems not to work to well...
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 6134
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: [1.96] Batch processing: Problems with using/saving scripts

Post by XnTriq »

Hi & welcome, Johannes :-)
johannes.kastl wrote:Where to find the discussion you mentioned?
johannes.kastl wrote:The search seems not to work to well...
johannes.kastl
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 4:51 pm

Re: [1.96] Batch processing: Problems with using/saving scripts

Post by johannes.kastl »

Thanks Xntriq,

I'll have a look.

One thing I come across with loading the JPEG settings from the script. Altough the script contains a line with

Code: Select all

output( jpeg 80 0 0 0 0 0 1 )
some settings are not changed when loading the script.

I tested this, and manually unchecked all checkboxes in "Tools"->"Options"->"General"->"Read/Write"->"Write"->"JPEG". Then loaded a script with the line above, but nearly nothing happened, only the checkbox "Rebuild embedded thumbnail" got set. This script was saved when some of the checkboxes were checked.

I do not know if I made a mistake, or if this is not what the script should do. But when loading a script containing JPEG Options I would expect the settings to be exactly as the script says.

Any hints?

Regards,
Johannes