MP 0.38.3 Win: PNG preview problem

*** Please report new bugs here! ***

Moderator: Dreamer

Post Reply
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

MP 0.38.3 Win: PNG preview problem

Post by JohnFredC »

Here is a bug displaying some large PNGs in the browser preview:

Image

The vertical lines show only at one zoom ratio, but there is no way to see what ratio that is...
John
User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 35728
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: MP 0.38.3 Win: PNG preview problem

Post by xnview »

Yes, known bug
Pierre.
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Re: MP 0.38.3 Win: PNG preview problem

Post by JohnFredC »

Honestly, this issue has only rarely appeared in previous versions for me, and then mostly on PNGs in fullscreen mode.

Now, while testing MP v0.38.3, I notice that it isn't just PNGs, and it isn't just the preview... it is in all views and with all images, regardless of image resolution. In some cases the lines also appear when zooming out. Not only are vertical lines frequently visible but also sometimes horizontal lines to form a grid (warning large image):

Image

For whatever reason, apparently, this problem is worse in this version than previously (I'm pretty sure I would have noticed...).
John
User avatar
JohnFredC
XnThusiast
Posts: 2010
Joined: Wed Mar 17, 2004 8:33 pm
Location: Sarasota Florida

Re: MP 0.38.3 Win: PNG preview problem

Post by JohnFredC »

I have also identified this issue on my system for JPGs now, as well as PNGs.

Here is an example from a Compare tab. Notice that the "artifact" renders differently for the JPG (solid black) as opposed to the PNG (dashed black & white):

Image

The compared images are wide aspect panoramas, so the problem is not limited to vertical aspect images, after all.

I haven't been working with very large images recently, so haven't encountered this problem for a while... but IMO really needs to be fixed before the next major beta!
John
Post Reply