batch rename bug.

Ask for help and post your question on how to use XnView Classic.

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Nelson
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:44 pm
Location: Tao-Yuan, Taiwan
Contact:

batch rename bug.

Post by Nelson » Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:36 pm

I've posted it before (http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?t=8446), and it doesn't seem to be fixed.

If there is only one file selected, the "duplicate" function doesn't work fine.
I enable the "Always" option, but it doesn't add suffix when there is only one file.

V 1.90 RC1

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31747
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: RC1: batch rename bug.

Post by xnview » Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:41 pm

Nelson wrote:I've posted it before (http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?t=8446), and it doesn't seem to be fixed.
But has been fixed in Beta 1. What is not fixed?
Pierre.

Nelson
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:44 pm
Location: Tao-Yuan, Taiwan
Contact:

Re: RC1: batch rename bug.

Post by Nelson » Tue Jan 09, 2007 1:52 pm

xnview wrote:
Nelson wrote:I've posted it before (http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?t=8446), and it doesn't seem to be fixed.
But has been fixed in Beta 1. What is not fixed?
1. Since I choose "Always", it should add suffix to every file, even if there is only one file.
2. But when there is only one file, it doesn't add suffix to that one.
3. This is a bug. :D

Nelson
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:44 pm
Location: Tao-Yuan, Taiwan
Contact:

Re: RC1: batch rename bug.

Post by Nelson » Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:26 pm

Nelson wrote:
xnview wrote:
Nelson wrote:I've posted it before (http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?t=8446), and it doesn't seem to be fixed.
But has been fixed in Beta 1. What is not fixed?
1. Since I choose "Always", it should add suffix to every file, even if there is only one file.
2. But when there is only one file, it doesn't add suffix to that one.
3. This is a bug. :D
Sorry, but it is not yet fixed in RC2.

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8172
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Re: RC1: batch rename bug.

Post by helmut » Fri Jan 19, 2007 8:37 pm

Nelson wrote:Sorry, but it is not yet fixed in RC2.
From what I can see this is not a bug, but a unclear feature. Please have a look at topic Batch Rename: "Duplicate" dialog. Let's continue discussion in that post.

I move this one to "Info & Feedback" because this needs discussing.

User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Olivier_G » Mon Jan 22, 2007 5:20 pm

I agree with Nelson, as explained in the other thread (+nobody replied for more than 1 year), and see this as a bug.

Moreover, I routinely need this feature for my own photos... :(
Olivier

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31747
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Mon Jan 22, 2007 7:38 pm

Olivier_G wrote:I agree with Nelson, as explained in the other thread (+nobody replied for more than 1 year), and see this as a bug.

Moreover, I routinely need this feature for my own photos... :(
You use 'batch rename' on 1 file??
Pierre.

User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Olivier_G » Mon Jan 22, 2007 10:21 pm

xnview wrote:
Olivier_G wrote:I agree with Nelson, as explained in the other thread (+nobody replied for more than 1 year), and see this as a bug.
Moreover, I routinely need this feature for my own photos... :(
You use 'batch rename' on 1 file??
No: 'Always' in 'duplicate' never worked for me... :(
(be it with 1 or 1000 files)
Olivier

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31747
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Tue Jan 23, 2007 7:31 am

Olivier_G wrote:
xnview wrote:
Olivier_G wrote:I agree with Nelson, as explained in the other thread (+nobody replied for more than 1 year), and see this as a bug.
Moreover, I routinely need this feature for my own photos... :(
You use 'batch rename' on 1 file??
No: 'Always' in 'duplicate' never worked for me... :(
(be it with 1 or 1000 files)
??? So could you post a screenshot of the dialog to show me?
Pierre.

User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Olivier_G » Tue Jan 23, 2007 10:43 am

So here is what I get when I select several files with Duplicate:Always & Character.

Image

I would expect to always see a letter at the end of each name ("A" most of the time, "B";"C";"D"... if duplicates). It doesn't show in the dialog nor in the renamed files... :?
Olivier

Nelson
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 12:44 pm
Location: Tao-Yuan, Taiwan
Contact:

Post by Nelson » Tue Jan 23, 2007 11:08 am

xnview wrote: ??? So could you post a screenshot of the dialog to show me?
Here is my screenshot.
Image

Since I enable "Always" and set suffix to "_###",
the 2 filenames I highlighted should be 2006-12-04_001.jpg and 2006-12-09_001.jpg.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 31747
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Post by xnview » Tue Jan 23, 2007 1:44 pm

Olivier_G wrote:So here is what I get when I select several files with Duplicate:Always & Character.

I would expect to always see a letter at the end of each name ("A" most of the time, "B";"C";"D"... if duplicates). It doesn't show in the dialog nor in the renamed files... :?
Ok, i understand, but always is not for this purpose. It's to have always the number or character on first duplicated file!!
Pierre.

User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Olivier_G » Tue Jan 23, 2007 6:35 pm

xnview wrote:Ok, i understand, but always is not for this purpose. It's to have always the number or character on first duplicated file!!
I now understand.
Then, there should be:

Code: Select all

ADD
[ ]Always
[ ]Start on first duplicate
[ ]Start on second duplicate
('Start on first duplicate' = previous 'Always')
Olivier

User avatar
B.Douille
Posts: 182
Joined: Sat Sep 09, 2006 9:25 pm
Location: Hte Savoie - France

Post by B.Douille » Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:25 pm

May I suggest something here ? My proposal is based on what I see as a redondant feature: basic numbering and management of duplicates. You may have noticed that if you uses numbering there can't be any duplicates 8)
There is a need for a simple management of duplicates by default. Some needs an improved format to have the same lenght for all files, and so a need for a true "Always".
The feature of the # in the format can be attached to a set of 3 options in addition to the Start/Step as follows:
Start [ 0 ] (could be number or letter)
Step [ 1 ]
[O] Continuous numbering
[O] Always for duplicates
[X] Added only if needed (default option)

"Continuous numbering" with a format like "<Modified>_#_<Folder>", starting at 1
01/01/2007_1_My Pictures
02/01/2007_2_My Pictures
23/01/2007_3_My Pictures
23/01/2007_4_My Pictures
01/01/2007_5_My Pictures
...

"Always for duplicates" with the same format "<Modified>_#_<Folder>", starting at 1
01/01/2007_1_My Pictures
01/01/2007_2_My Pictures
02/01/2007_1_My Pictures
23/01/2007_1_My Pictures
23/01/2007_2_My Pictures
...

"If needed" with a format like "<Modified>_<Folder>_###", starting at 0:
01/01/2007_My Pictures_000
01/01/2007_My Pictures_001
02/01/2007_My Pictures
23/01/2007_My Pictures_000
23/01/2007_My Pictures_001
...

"If needed" with a format like "<Modified>_<Folder>", starting at 1:
01/01/2007_My Pictures
01/01/2007_My Pictures_1
02/01/2007_My Pictures
23/01/2007_My Pictures
23/01/2007_My Pictures_1
...

This method allows use of a format like "<Modified>##_<Folder>" where pseudo-seconds are generated
Note that the position of # at the end of the format, in the middle or if there is no # at all may be used for automation.

User avatar
Olivier_G
XnThusiast
Posts: 1423
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2004 7:17 pm
Location: Paris, France
Contact:

Post by Olivier_G » Fri Jan 26, 2007 8:00 pm

That's quite an interesting move, here... :D

How would you handle the situation for "Added only if needed" but starting on the second duplicate file with a specific format, as in this example:
01/01/2007_My Pictures
01/01/2007_My Pictures_001
02/01/2007_My Pictures
23/01/2007_My Pictures
23/01/2007_My Pictures_001
(that's the only doubt/limitation I could see... and I actually like your suggestion a lot!)
Olivier

Post Reply