Toolbar presets

Bugs found in XnView Classic. Please report only one bug per topic!

Moderators: XnTriq, xnview

Post Reply
User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5457
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Toolbar presets

Post by XnTriq » Mon Mar 31, 2008 10:00 pm

  1. Make a fresh install (clean INI) of XnView from a ZIP package (XnView-win-small.zip or XnView-win.zip or XnView-win-full.zip).
  2. Start XnView and choose “application folder” as “location for program settings” in the Configuration wizard.
  3. Go to Tools » Options... » Interface » Toolbar » Buttons » Buttons displayed.
  4. Click the Default toolbar button.
    » 3 buttons are added to the Basic toolbar. :bug:
  5. Click the OK button to leave the options dialog.
    » A file named default.bar is created in XnView's program directory.
  6. Make a copy of default.bar and rename the copy to custom.bar.
  7. Go to the toolbar options and click on the ... button in the Buttons displayed field to load the custom.bar presets.
  8. Make a few random changes to the toolbars and save them by clicking on OK.
  9. Go back to the toolbar options and click on the Default toolbar button.
    » custom.bar is overwritten with the settings of default.bar. :?
I would like to be able to export my toolbar settings from the options dialog to a .bar file.
IMO the Default toolbar button should reset the toolbars to the settings specified in default.bar without overwriting any customizations.
Last edited by XnTriq on Tue Apr 01, 2008 11:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Clo
XnThusiast
Posts: 4441
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2004 4:57 am
Location: Bordeaux, France
Contact:

Look for…

Post by Clo » Tue Apr 01, 2008 12:10 am

:arrow: XnTriq

:) Hello !

Mr. XnTriq (moderator) might ask to Mr. XnTriq (librarian) to perform a Search among my messages
and the Paul's "Ouistiti" ones about the customized tool-bars… ;)
- To start on THE GOOD TRACK…… and also BY THERE…

• Since the first 1.90 alpha n…, I grouse against that incomplete feature, that's not really achevied,
despite its setting dialogue “À la TC” (but in TC, we never lose any bar,
having moreover the capability to set a lot displayed as a circular call…).
- I resigned to change my skins often, and I used a workaround in brief :
1. Save each custom *.bar file in a sub-folder with the corresponding INI,
2. Change via a batch file for each skin¦setting (the programme being closed, of course)…

• IMHO, you might move that thread to the «Bugs» section, I can't do that, I'm nothing here:|

:mrgreen: KR
Claude
Clo
Old user ON SELECTIVE STRIKE till further notice

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5457
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Look for…

Post by XnTriq » Tue Apr 01, 2008 11:35 pm

:mrgreen: Hi Clo,

currently both of my alter egos are very busy. They hardly see each other anymore. So XnTriq (the user) has to take over for now:FYI: I deliberately posted this as a suggestion, because I wanted to put the focus on my proposed solution rather than on the bug itself.
Last edited by XnTriq on Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:35 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32005
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Toolbar presets

Post by xnview » Wed Apr 02, 2008 12:50 pm

XnTriq wrote:
  1. Make a fresh install (clean INI) of XnView from a ZIP package (XnView-win-small.zip or XnView-win.zip or XnView-win-full.zip).
  2. Start XnView and choose “application folder” as “location for program settings” in the Configuration wizard.
  3. Go to Tools » Options... » Interface » Toolbar » Buttons » Buttons displayed.
  4. Click the Default toolbar button.
    » 3 buttons are added to the Basic toolbar. :bug:
Yes right
[*]Make a few random changes to the toolbars and save them by clicking on OK.
[*]Go back to the toolbar options and click on the Default toolbar button.
» custom.bar is overwritten with the settings of default.bar. :?[/list]I would like to be able to export my toolbar settings from the options dialog to a .bar file.
IMO the Default toolbar button should reset the toolbars to the settings specified in default.bar without overwriting any customizations.
So if you click on 'Default toolbar', i must reset the filename used too?
Pierre.

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5457
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Re: Toolbar presets

Post by XnTriq » Thu Apr 03, 2008 7:05 pm

xnview wrote:So if you click on 'Default toolbar', i must reset the filename used too?
Well, currently default.bar is always specified as the source of the settings, no matter if the toolbars have been customized or not (and even if file doesn't exist).
I think the field for the filename should be blank when the toolbars are in their default state.
Once the user makes changes to the buttons, these settings should be saved as foo.bar (or temp.bar or custom.bar or user.bar or my_tool.bar).
When the Default toolbar (or “Reset”) button is pressed, the field should become empty again, but the foo.bar file should be left untouched.
  • Image

User avatar
xnview
Author of XnView
Posts: 32005
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 7:31 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Toolbar presets

Post by xnview » Fri Apr 04, 2008 8:09 am

Ok, i'll change that in 1.93.5
Pierre.

marsh
XnThusiast
Posts: 2443
Joined: Sun May 15, 2005 6:31 am

Post by marsh » Wed May 07, 2008 6:16 pm

This has been changed in v.1.93.6
I recommend users archive their custom settings under name "foo.bar" or some name other than "default.bar".

User avatar
XnTriq
Moderator & Librarian
Posts: 5457
Joined: Sun Sep 25, 2005 3:00 am
Location: Ref Desk

Post by XnTriq » Mon Jul 07, 2008 7:25 pm

xnview ([url=http://newsgroup.xnview.com/viewtopic.php?p=60380#60380]Toolbar presets[/url]) wrote:
XnTriq wrote:
  1. Make a fresh install (clean INI) of XnView from a ZIP package (XnView-win-small.zip or XnView-win.zip or XnView-win-full.zip).
  2. Start XnView and choose “application folder” as “location for program settings” in the Configuration wizard.
  3. Go to Tools » Options... » Interface » Toolbar » Buttons » Buttons displayed.
  4. Click the Default toolbar button.
    » 3 buttons are added to the Basic toolbar. :bug:
Yes right
Not fixed in v1.93.6:

User avatar
helmut
Posts: 8174
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2003 6:47 pm
Location: Frankfurt, Germany

Post by helmut » Mon Jul 07, 2008 8:56 pm

Yes, still a problem in 1.93.6. The differences are.

Image view mode:
Flip vertical
Flip horizontal
Frame > Goto page
Properties

Browser mode:
Scan

User avatar
Peter2
XnThusiast
Posts: 1124
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 3:07 pm
Location: CH

Post by Peter2 » Thu Jul 24, 2008 2:52 pm

I'm confused ...

- I played around with toolbat - foo.bar was made.
- I closed XnView, copied foo.bar to peter.bar.
- I opened Xnview, selected peter.bar, played around - and ended again in foo.bar.

Is this correct?

Peter
XnView 2.48 German, Win 7 x64 Prof. / Win 10

Post Reply